help exchange   Host 37940
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Ludlow
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): About 3 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37940
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 22, 2016

**CURRENT VACANCIES. We have an unexpected vacancy in September owing to a cancellation. This is for a helper with some previous experience of gardening and/or landscaping work including constructing paths and digging heavy clay soil. The work will be physically demanding but rewarding. We hope the weather will be good in September but it's never guaranteed in England and you will need to not mind working outdoors in all weather and to bring suitable waterproof clothing and footwear. NB you MUST be at least 20 and have at least some relevant experience of outdoor physical work.

We live in a beautiful rural hillside location in South Shropshire, we are a mile from the nearest lane yet only 7 miles from the lovely historic town of Ludlow. We have stunning views across the Corvedale valley and we enjoy fabulous sunsets. This is a perfect spot for anyone who loves peace and quiet, wildlife and the outdoors. We have three horses and two very friendly spaniels, a large garden with vegetables, fruit and a small orchard as well as a small wood and ornamental areas which are rather wild at present! We try to live in harmony with the environment and wildlife here by using organic and permaculture techniques wherever we can and exploring ways of keeping our horses in a more natural and holistic way.

We are looking for people to help us with various projects around the garden, woodland, home and field. The exact tasks we'll ask you to do will depend upon the time of year, what projects we have on the go and your skills/experience. Examples might include weeding, digging and planting, chopping logs, poo picking in the horse paddock, helping to build paths, walls and raised vegetable beds, and/or helping around the house with maintenance or cleaning tasks. We could also use someone with computer/IT skills.

We have some interesting projects in the pipeline for 2016, including buiding paths, walls and terraces around our steeply sloping garden. Anyone with the muscles and the skills to help with these projects will be particularly welcome. You will need to bring warm, waterproof clothing and footwear. We ask all helpers to assist us with the morning routine of looking after the animals, including poo picking and walking the dogs on some days.

Jan is an ecologist and works as an independent consultant; if you are interested in this type of work there may be an opportunity to accompany her on site surveys although this can't be guaranteed as it depends on the work available.

We like helpers to be flexible as this is a lifestyle experience and we often don't notice the time when we need to get a task finished and we're enjoying being out in the fresh air. However, as a guide we will be expecting you to work for five hours a day for five days a week, plus a bit of help with food preparation and washing up. We can offer accommodation in our comfortable and cosy 2-berth caravan which is suitable for a single person, a couple or two good friends travelling together and has a double or two single beds.

You MUST be over 20 years old and have a reasonable level of competence in spoken English. We prefer to take helpers for two weeks initially, but if we get along well and your skills fit in with what we need at the time then it may be possible to extend your stay to a month if we don't have another helper booked in.

There is lots to do in the local area while you are here and plenty of lovely walks around our home, but please note we live in an isolated rural location and we are about 7 miles from the nearest shop so you will need to be happy with this, even when it rains! There is no public transport but we may be able to offer you a lift into Ludlow occasionally.

We now have much improved broadband and WiFi, but we have limited mobile phone coverage. If you are planning to get a UK SIM card to use during your time here we recommend that you buy one on the EE (Orange) network as nothing else works here.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use