help exchange   Host 38041
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Brentwood
All Year: August/September 2016
Area (ha):
Persons: Couple, ideally
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38041
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 21, 2016

Hello,

We are offering a working holiday in Essex, England. We would be particularly interested to hear from people who would be available in August or September, 2016.

We live in a quiet village near Brentwood, which allows for easy access to London and the Essex countryside.

Along the village High Street, no more than five minutes walk from our house, you will find: two supermarkets; various pubs and bars; Indian, Italian and Chinese restaurants; a library; and several more shops and services.

Local buses run into Chelmsford, a small city, and Brentwood, our nearest town. At these locations you will find plenty of larger shops, restaurants, cafés and thriving night-life.

Getting into London is very simple. Our house is approximately ten minutes by foot to the train station which takes you into London Stratford (20 minutes) and zone 1, Liverpool Street (30 minutes). Direct trains run every 1/2 hour, or so, throughout the day but, if you are new to England, please be aware that train travel can be quite expensive.

There are a number of lovely open spaces and old houses within easy travelling distance, including Hylands House, Ingatestone Hall, and Weald Country Park. Two more places worth a visit are Hyde Hall, a beautiful RHS garden, and Hanningfield Reservoir, with its café by the water. The Essex coast is within reach by car.

We are looking for volunteers, a couple would probably be ideal, to help us with basic DIY (stripping wall paper, sanding etc) and garden projects (possibly including some heavy digging, planting, and landscaping). You will need to bring suitable sturdy footwear and old, comfortable, clothes for working in.

We would particularly welcome guests who are non-smokers, over the age of 25, who are proficient in spoken English and, ideally, vegetarian. Because we are vegetarian, we will ask that you do not bring meat or fish products into the house.

You will be asked to work for an average of five hours per day, five days per week, in exchange for basic but comfortable accommodation and simple vegetarian food. You'll have your own double room and own bathroom (but not en-suite). There is unlimited wi-fi that you are welcome to use and free (but limited) UK telephone calls. Stays of one or two weeks in length would probably suit us best, but this can be discussed in relation to your forward travel plans.

We would ask that you be flexible about your working hours. For example, you may be asked to work three long days (8 hours or so each day) per week, and then the rest of the time would be your own. We often work at weekends, so your time off might be during the week.

Neither of us have taught English before but we would be happy to help you improve your verbal and written English skills where we can.

We are a married couple in our forties/fifties. As a hobby, when we have time, we house-sit for other people looking after their pets. You can find out a little about us, and see our references, on our pet-sitting profile at: http://www.trustedhousesitters.com/house-and-pet-sitters/16099-Jules73/

We are fairly quiet people who enjoy a relaxed, sedate atmosphere. If you are looking for a buzzy holiday with noise and non-stop action you will probably be bored and disappointed. A typical evening in our house might involve watching TV, reading, or enjoying a glass of wine in the garden; we're definitely not a 'party' household. It would be good to meet like-minded helpers.

Please get in touch if you are interested in staying with us. You will need to have recent references, preferably including some through this website, and we would like to hear about similar work you have undertaken in the past. We would like to Skype with you before your visit to make sure we are all happy with the arrangements.

We look forward to making your acquaintance.

Regards
Steve

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use