help exchange   Host 3813
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April to October
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 3813
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 12, 2016

We live in south central Bulgaria and run a small dog charity. We will require help from around the end of April through to end of September, maybe into October. We would prefer to have one person or a couple stay for the entire period as then you would get to know the dogs and they would get to know you.

We are looking for someone or a couple to come and help care for dogs in our charge for around 5 to 6 months (end of April through to end of September or October). And also help with plot clearance and some building type work.

Accommodation would be in our guest house next door with own private garden. All bills would be paid. There is internet from our connection so fine for checking emails, browsing etc but not super quick as not a dedicated connection. We might be able to provide a wifi dongle so you could buy your own pre-paid sim card for internet. We would also provide a food allowance and you would be welcome to grow your own vegetables etc if you wished. And much of the time you could of course eat with us.

We often need to travel to visit other dog shelters, for charity events to raise funds, to visit friends and family and sometimes we just want to get away for a few days. Your duties would include caring for our own 5 dogs, who would continue to live in our house and would just need feeding twice a day, letting out into large garden (do not need walking), keeping an eye on and putting to bed later on. There may also be various foster dogs to look after and some may need basic veterinary care.

We would also appreciate some help renovating a barn and clearing a plot where we hope to build more dog kennels. This maybe a couple of days a week but would really be up to you as to how much you wanted to be involved and what you wanted to do. We may ask you to cut the grass if required when we are away and water plants. Its a little hard to say how much work would be required, when we are away there will be more to do. When we are there we will mainly care for the dogs and would just ask you to help us with plot clearance, making kennels, building work for maybe a couple of days a week.

The area is nestled between two mountain ranges and two lakes so there is lots to do and see. Not many people speak English and the village is fairly rural and basic. There would be plenty of time for you to go off exploring on your own, so long as did not interfere with our plans. A car would be recommended but not required as there are regular buses to town and a train station in the next door village. There is an outdoor mineral pool in the next door village.

Obviously you would be put in a position where we would need to trust you so would ask for references and also a deposit against any damage to guest house as we have had trouble in the past. And have also had people just up and leave when we were away, leaving the dogs unattended.

There would be opportunity to be more involved with the charity and get involved in neutering projects, visiting other shelters around Bulgaria, taking dogs to the vets etc.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use