help exchange   Host 38679
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Thames-Coromandel Coast
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12.5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 38679
Region: Coromandel

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 7, 2017

*Update*

We plan to do a bit of work semi-enclosing our outdoor kitchen and have hopes to start building a wee cabin on wheels in a couple of weeks time, if you have any carpentry or building experience in particular please get in touch!

We live on a farm in Te Mata- we have a land sharing agreement with the owners which we are trialing for an indeterminate time but with the hopes of living out here long term.
Our setup is very basic as it stands, and therefore potential helpers should feel comfortable roughing it a bit. Accommodation is a caravan ajoining to a semi-enclosed kitchen. We use a bucket composting toilet system and have basic 12volt electricity but no internet or phone line to speak of down the hill!
We use the landowners infrastructure at the house (their washing up facilities, landline, internet and charge devices up there) you will be able to do so as well..

Tasks would involve everything from babysitting, improving infrastructure, weed whacking, general pasture management (removing gorse, blackberries, braken and kanukas) helping establish gardens, cooking, making a lean-to, planting trees, earth-building, fencing etc. etc.


Please-
only write to us if you are confidant that you can commit to agreed work trade and are positive that a exchange would be sympathetic!
we strive to represent ourselves truthfully; be sure you've read through our profile and know what we're about so you can be certain you'd benefit from being here.
Furthermore it's important all of us that everyone is treated fairly and with respect, that you are honest with yourselves as well as with us..



About us:

We are a young couple with a 6 year old boy and 6 month old girl who have been based in the coromandel-> for just over 2 years now.. we open our doors to inquisitive, engaged and engaging WWOOF'ers and HelpX'ers!

We have some basic gardens and keep bees. We practice organics and take a lot of principles from permaculture, believing firmly in sustainable- holistic practices that don't cost the earth..

We live frugally in our daily lives and enjoy going on weed walks->supplementing our diets by relying on bush foods, scrumping around, and occasionally foraging for mushrooms.
Alexei is interested in natural building techniques, fostering some more rubust beehives and creating soil! while Sarita is eager to cultivate various herbs and flowers for medicinal purposes. Doms pretty happy just being himself, playing and being a wee social butterfly! And Fianne is just growing into her self.

Both of us thoroughly enjoy the wilderness and are interested in travel. Alexei has spent the better part of the previous 4 years working and traveling around and really appreciated having the opportunity to stay with, share common ground and work alongside so many fantastic people.
We'd like to offer the same support he received to others who find themselves in a similar boat!

We gladly accept enthusiastic- open minded people into our home who are keen to help us along with our projects and try their hand at different tasks.
In exchange for 5 hours help per day we offer a space in our caravan and meals, we are able to host vegetarians and en-devour to cater to people with other dietary needs..
We enjoy cooking but because of our lifestyle and time limitations we encourage helpers to cook/bake and take part in meal prep, sometimes we ask that our guests prepare their own food using produce/ingredients that we provide

Some of the things which we would like to concentrate on aside from those listed above include: weedwhacking, creating a black soldier fly farm, creating herb gardens, caring for the wormfarm, pruning trees, green cropping/ mulching/ bed preparation, tool maintenance, prepping window frames

In your free time there is plenty to do in the area, we are a stone throw away from the beach and back right up onto the bush, there is a marvelous river at the bottom of the property with some incredible swimming holes- we have tubes which people are welcome to use to float around down there.
Superb walks are ubiquitous in this area. We also have oodles of books, craft materials, tools and a couple of musical instruments to play.

When we have time available to us we are happy to and often encourage our guests to come on outings, trips or join us with activities that we might be involved with.

Thames is approximately 20 Km away and Coromandel town is about 30 km north

write to us if you think an exchange would be sympathetic, we would love to hear from you :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use