help exchange   Host 39275
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Hereford
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39275
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 19, 2015

This is a very old farmhouse with large outbuildings on half a hectare of garden, trees and rough pasture, on a hillside in rural Herefordshire - one of the most beautiful and unspoiled parts of England. It's not a farm and no farm work is required - there are no animals here other than my 2 cats Zippy and Zaney! I do try to grow vegetables but the weeds often win. It is very peaceful and quiet with beautiful views towards the Welsh mountains - if you like walking or cycling or photography this is a great place. I and my family have been living here for many years but now I'm on my own and there's a lot to do, so help is needed with maintaining and improving the trees, hedges, fences, lawn, pasture, vegetable garden and compost; also with clearing space in the outbuildings and re-organising these; and with some small-scale building work and renovation. There is a workshop available with tools and machinery as I was previously a furniture-maker. Now I work as an environmentalist, so I am keen to do things in a sustainable and sensitive way. I am an active member of the international Transition Network and work to promote renewable energy and sustainable economics among other things. I'm also a practising Buddhist and member of the Soka Gakkai International - you're welcome to chant with me or not, as you prefer. The beautiful river Wye is not far away as are the Black Mountains and the Welsh hills, so as well as the city of Hereford and the small market towns there are interesting places nearby to visit. If you're into music that's great - there's a piano and also a hi-fi system with big speakers outside, and no neighbours to complain! If you're into food there's lots to play with, and I'm interested to try new things so you will get a chance to learn and experiment.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use