help exchange   Host 39800
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Rattlesden
All Year:
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39800
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 17, 2017

LOOKING FOR SOMEONE TO COME AND START FROM NOW TILL MAY (doesn't have to be for duration!)

Young Family Home, having helpxed in France, we really enjoyed having the experience of hosting summer 2015 and Apr/May 2016, and wish to do it again.

We love travelling, and with it the people we meet, but at another stage in our lives where not really possible, so are hoping a slice of the world can come to us,and help!



Our family is made up of Dan (33, Electrician, English), Michelle (29, Teachers Assistant(but on maternity leave, Australian) Eloise (or Ella, 6, at school), AND Annalise *(7 Months).

We are quite relaxed and easy going by nature with time getting away from us and would LOVE some help in our home.

Our main goal (at the moment) which we would like help with:
- painting (would prefer someone with some experience!)
-helping make a 'petanque' pitch
-gardening
-VERY basic landscaping
Dan always has loads of little things he needs to do, but never enough time!

As well as some help around the house if that suits better (cooking/cleaning/entertaining kiddies). There is always somewhere we would appreciate help.

We have a normal English House, which we have almost completed the rear extension. This has given us a 4th bedroom downstairs (your room) which gives you a little privacy away from us sleeping upstairs.It is 1 double bed (suit singles, couples or friends willing to share), alternatively we have a long garden so are welcome to pitch a tent/van etc. We love to eat and cook, both meat and vegetarian food, so both types of eaters are welcome! You can get involved in our family life as much or little as you wish, and dinner will be cooked most week nights, but you would be free to potter about yourself if you wished. Most breakfasts/lunches you will need to fix yourself up in our kitchen with food provided. On the weekend, it's not always provided, but will let you know ahead of time if not. Our daughter is very happy and lively, and enjoys adult company, so you would need to be okay with having a little person totting about!

Our village is very friendly and has two great local pubs, lovely views all around and close links to nearby towns (or you can catch rides when we travel in/out of work), we also have a couple bikes you can lend. Work is flexible, I would say an average of 4-5 hrs a day across 5 days, but do them as you wish. I would hope for a minimum 1 week stay, to get into the rhythm of things.

We want to have open conversation with you just in case it's not working out. For example Ella is not coping well, we are not finding it as we planned etc. So we CANNOT guarantee a set amount of time, obviously we are fair and kind people, but we would want you to have the money or plans to move on if it's not working (or perhaps you are not finding it enjoyable!), but in reverse, if we are getting on really well, and we both agree you can stay on!!

We have wifi for you to use, and any food requests we will do out best to cater to. We respect sustainable living, and are environmentally conscious, although know we could do more (so any advice is welcome, we loved the learning we did whilst helping), relatively healthy, and do enjoy a drink (although do not smoke). Families are welcome if in tent/van (still obviously welcome to spend most of the time in the house).

Any more info you may want, please feel free to ask.


Cheers,
Michelle, Dan, Ella and Annalise

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use