help exchange   Host 39987
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Frome
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39987
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 24, 2017

Hello dog lovers.

We are looking for help for October, November, December.

We would love to welcome you to our home in the small but busy market town of Frome in Somerset (has won awards as the best small town in the UK). http://www.discoverfrome.co.uk/frome/
We have been hosting for over two years and have enjoyed meeting new friends from all over the world. We really like people with a sense of humour.

The most important thing is that you need to be happy with dogs and taking them out for walks while we are at work. It is a great way to explore the town and surrounding countryside. Our 2 dogs love long walks and we are happy if they are happy!

Apart from dogwalking, this October, we need some help with preparation and decoration of some walls. We think that about 4 hours per day is fair.

Our house in Frome is about 10 minutes from the centre and within walking distance of the cinema, the railway station, the leisure centre, the theatres and the countryside.

Frome is a small town with lots of markets/events/music and plenty of individual shops cafes and pubs. It has a strong alternative culture and is a great place to sit in a cafe, discover English cakes and watch the world go by!
There is plenty going on in the evenings if you are happy to go out and find it, or you can enjoy a more quiet life as we are close to beautiful countryside. Previous helpers have joined a local choir and sung in a concert, participated in a pub quiz, checked out the local music scene and joined the backstage crew at the Merlin theatre.

Bath and Bristol are not far for a day out. By bus or train it takes less than an hour to Bath (6 bus or 10/12 train).

At the weekends, you can get to London in 2 hours by train if you wish. We don't need help at weekends so you can explore the area or travel around.

We have 2 dogs (Daisy and Panda) and 2 cats as well as ourselves: Milo (15), Herbie and Alli. Our adult children live elsewhere but sometimes come home at weekends. Our house has a small town garden with flowers and fruit and near to the house we also have small vegetable allotment where we grow organic berries and vegetables.

We are mostly vegetarian but occasionally cook meat. We enjoy sharing meals as a family and would be happy for you to join us. The kitchen table is an important place in our home! We have enjoyed discovering new styles of cuisine prepared by our lovely helpexers. Alli works in marketing and Herbie is a Maths teacher. We both work during the day, so you would need to be happy to work on your own. Milo likes to make films and loves skateboarding so perhaps that would be interesting for you too.

The house has WiFi. We have a double room with one double bed so it would be fine for one person or a couple to share, although there is not enough housework for 2 people, so hopefully one of you could help with building/carpentry/decorating work. We share the bathrooms. We do not need any help at weekends so you would be free to explore the UK and the local area as you wish. We have (oldish) bikes which you can borrow to help you get around.

We only host non-smokers.

We have hosted many times. We like meeting new people from different places and helping them to discover this part of the UK. We have made some good friends, some have even stayed in Frome. We try to make the most of our time with helpers and definitely get on well with people who have a good sense of humour. We have a piano at home, we love it when our helpers play it.

And if you are interested in exploring Somerset...
https://www.buzzfeed.com/alexfinnis/reasons-you-should-never-visit-somerset

Photos: Daisy and Panda love swimming, lovely dog enjoying a walk with a helpex visitor, Panda and Daisy, Frome market day, our family all together, vegetable allotment.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use