help exchange   Host 40727
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bristol
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2 or 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40727
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 4, 2017

**please contact us now for helping in June and beyond **

Come and stay with me, my husband and our new baby daughter (born in the summer 2016) on our small holding.

We have 4 horses, 3 dogs and 3 cats and live on 5 acres of land about 6 miles from the City of Bristol. There are buses available if you are coming from Bristol city centre, and coaches and trains linking us with most other large cites and towns in the south of England. We are very near Bristol airport and the village of ChewMagna (google it). We're also about 20 mins from Bath and 45 mins from the famous Glastonbury and Wells.

We need help some with the following:

*DIY jobs (painting and restoration etc) help with renovating our house.
*Helping with the horses (mucking out, poo picking the fields, and looking after them). If you have experience with horses this is ideal. Opportunity to work with young horses. possibility of riding and lots of groundwork.
*Helping with the groups we run for children to learn horse care
*Gardening and maintaining our field and fencing.
*feeding and playing with the dogs and cats
*helping inside the home, cleaning, laundry, ironing, cooking, organising etc LOADS OF THIS!!
*Listing things on Ebay like baby clothes etc!
*other odd jobs inside the home and out
*must be prepared to work outside sometimes in wet / cold weather with warm / waterproof clothing !! - it can rain a lot in England !!

If you are interested in horses you can help me and go to local shows and competitions.

We would be looking for 5 days working a week (this can be flexible) with 7 hours a day with breaks!!

In exchange for work we offer a quite basic caravan / or the tack room in the stables for accommodation (with tv) ~ the toilet and shower is in the stable block, 3 meals a day, snacks and drinks ! use of our laundry facilities and our WIFI and lots of conversation and a fun atmosphere! So the down side is our accommodation is quite basic as we don't have any room for HelpXers to stay in the house / use our bathroom, as our house is small and we have the baby and my step daughter sometimes here too at short notice! However it is beautiful here and fun and visitors never seem to want to leave! There is defiantly something magical about out hilltop!

We all work together during the day and eat together and then usually do our own things in the evenings ~ so there is the opportunity to go to the "local" pub or out into Bristol for the evening if you wanted or just spend some quite time.

We have 2-4 volunteer positions, as the caravan available is for 4 people, would also suit friends or couples. Let us know if you are happy to share or not!

Our house is in a rural (on a big hill, 700 feet above sea level!!) but not isolated location so would suit people that are looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful. It is often windy here but beautiful visas, so you MUST bring warm and waterproof clothing and boots!!!

We also have a bike volunteers are welcome to use!

:) You need to have a reference from ofther help x host or provide another type of reference please to help here :)

Look forward to hearing from you
Melissa :)

PS. It is important you like animals especially dogs and horses!!!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use