help exchange   Host 41098
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Algodonales
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 41098
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 5, 2016

HELLO TRAVELLERS,

^^^ UPDATE ^^^
Staying in Sweden for a while. No need for any helpers.



I am looking for someone, male or female, who is interested in cooking and light house keeping, such as washing dishes, sweeping, dog walking etc. (about 3-4 hour/day or as much as you want!) in exchange for a free lodging in the south of Spain. There will be a lot of time and opportunity to enjoy the weather and everything that the nature of Andalucia has to offer.
Please be aware that this is not a farm stay. No milking of goats, No cleaning out barns and No olive picking all day... Just a little bit of housekeeping, mopping and sweeping.
If you are looking for heavy, sweaty, hard working, muscle-building labor, you have to find another place.


About us...A couple of middle aged folks, enjoying paragliding and quilting, we like to laugh, travel and drink some wine with good friends. Our two kids are in college in Sweden.
Unfortunately my wife has to spend most of her time abroad during the year, I am staying in the house by myself, and I am not very good at taking care of the household due to some wicked allergies and a severe lack of knowledge and interest in housekeeping. I am looking for someone who can take care of those tasks while my wife is not here. If you know how to help out with the pool maintenance, I would be happy too!
I am very relaxed and easygoing and don't ask for much in life, but enjoy some real meals and some company instead of having to eat alone or in restaurants all the time.
After having helpers with great skills in the kitchen, I don't regret being a part of this network!
Thank you all, who have been here so far!

But...if you are a militant confrontational vegan/political radical activist/socially handicapped/suicidal lonely teenager, you should probably, no definitely, go look elsewhere.

Okay so far?
Would prefer one happy, cooking-crazy person, male or female, but can also take in two people if you're a couple or good friends, as long as you are fun, responsible and can provide food for yourself.
This also mean that if you are not interested or able to do the job, or have tendencies to forget to cook, I will not pay for your food and your stay here...Yes, I really have to put that in, because some people seem have it all backwards.

Your age?...We don't want to do any baby sitting here. You should preferably be at least 30 years old, or at least be old enough to buy your own beer, have some common sense and know how to behave around people.
Also, it is extremely good if you have a drivers licence. Should you possess this, you will be able to use the car here for your transport and leisure.

The house is located on the outskirts of the town of Algodonales. It is about 1.5 kilometer (one mile for you Brits) walk into town if you so wish, but if you don't want to walk, I am more than happy to take you there or to other places if you want to go shopping or hanging out.
When not busy paragliding I enjoy socializing and showing people around, and I like to have some company when exploring the area.

Algodonales is one of the famous white villages,small but nice, bordering some of the finest national parks in Spain.
The region is famous for hiking, canoeing, biking, mountain climbing and of course paragliding.

I forgot to mention the food! If you like olives and wine, you are in for a treat!
The views are unbeatable and the starry nights are splendid.

Please be aware that you must not be allergic to dogs. We have two sweet pups, very friendly and loving but, if you are scared of living outside the city, with occasional power outages, a cat and two dogs, this might not be for you.

If you reply, please indicate if you are willing to stay for extended period of time or just short stay. Of course long term is preferred!

I speak English and Swedish, some German, Norwegian and Danish. You must speak and understand English, at least understand it on a basic level.
Since I have not put enough effort into learning Spanish, it would be good if you are able to help out with that.

I need no loud rap music at night, but enjoy the quiet sounds of the mountains. Should you want a bit of night time action you have to go to town where there is music, fiestas, beer, pubs and everything else.
If you spend some time here, you might hear some real flamenco. In the mornings there are the sounds of the countryside with donkeys, goats, roosters, turkeys and sheep that can be heard through the valley.

The rooms provided (two to choose from) are not large, but enough for two people if you are a couple. Bathroom is shared.
Smoking allowed only outside the house. (ashtray and nice view for free)
You will have access to free WIFI, computer with internet and TV. You will have your own bedroom, but if there is an overlap in the helpers schedule, you might have to share one bedroom for a few nights.

You must be able to handle a broom, vacuum cleaner and dirty dishes.
You must be able to live with a couple of farting and snoring large dogs and their similar owner (not that difficult, but I will happily give some instructions if it is new to you).
You must be able to make your own decisions when it comes to cleaning and cooking.


If you apply, please do not hesitate to ask for specifics about us and the place we live. I will send more detailed info about us and the house after initial contact as well.
I can and will provide transport to and from airports or bus/train stations in the area if you need it.

Welcome/Bienvenidos

Mike and family and dogs (and sometimes a cat that stops by)





Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use