help exchange   Host 41162
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

nearest to Whangarei
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7.3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 41162
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 18, 2018

We currently have a vacancy.
There are two 1000 metre greenhouses and an outdoor area which we use to grow calla lily flowers for export. Planting starts in July through till January usually with the first flowers in October and finishing around early April. We also have a few cattle, one pet sheep and a timid little girl dog. In winter we have citrus fruit here which starts just when the fejoas are finished. We also have an orchard with plums, peaches, apples, pears, nashi and others. All are eat as much as you want. None of the fruit trees have ever been sprayed because we have never got around to it.

We also like to have a good vegetable garden. Our property is divided by a semi-permanent creek which we've been told has good sized eels in it. There is a large dam for supplying crop irrigation water and a home for frogs and ducks.

We have a comfortable spare room with a queen bed which is only required by us when our daughter comes home occasionally from University. There is also another spare room if required (needs redecorating). It only has a single bed. We have no children at home anymore.

The house has a heat pump and wood burner and unlimited high speed internet.

There are many jobs that can be done ranging from the home garden, to tasks associated with the flower business. We have also started growing succulents and sell these to garden shops and the local Farmers market. We are flexible with the hours worked with 3 hours generally being the usual, in exchange for meals and a bed. We suggest working in the morning and taking the afternoon off to visit attractions in the area. It is best if you have a car because we are rural and there is no public transport to the local attractions.

We are on State Highway 12 just under an hour from Whangarei and and half an hour to Dargaville, so handy to both coasts. We can probably pick someone up from the bus at the Brynderwyns. The Naked Bus stops there going between Whangarei and Auckland and even has a link with Auckland Airport. Also someone here goes into town at least once a week.

Paparoa village is 7km away and it has a grocery store, dairy, petrol station and garage and there is a pub. Ruawai and Maungaturoto are both about 10 km away. Near Ruawai is a volcanic cone which can be climbed. The top allows a great view of Ruawai river and surrunds. Near Maungaturoto is a walking track through bush down to a waterfall with swimming holes.
Local attractions include the World famous Matakohe Kauri Museum, a small kauri reserve with a loop walking track, and in Paparoa, a walk to a pa site. The nearby Pahi settlement is picturesque with a jetty and boat launching area. Fishing and swimming are possible there. Tinopai is another nearby picturesque seaside settlement. It has a very long jetty with a light on the end enabing night fishing. There are several swimming bays there. We also have a fishing net and it is possible to net a fish for breakfast - we are only 5 minutes from the Kaipara Harbour. It is the biggest harbour in the Southern Hemisphere. Also less than an hour away are Kai Iwi Lakes, Mangawhai beaches, Marsden Cove, Abby Caves and Bailey's Beach. Day trips to Leigh Marine Reserve, the Goat Island Glass Bottom Boat, Kawhau Island, Matakana Market and Waipoua Forest are also possible.

We have had quite a few young back packers and cyclists stay with us before we joined helpx, because we are on a main road and they have called in looking for somewhere to stay as dusk approached. We enjoy meeting people from other parts of the World and have travelled to Europe and Australia ourselves.

Current tasks are filling growing trays with sawdust, arranging planting areas, harvesting flowers and propagating succulents. The work is not hard and we try to keep it varied. Cooking , cleaning and handyman skills also appreciated.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use