help exchange   Host 41308
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Biggar
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.33
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 41308
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 28, 2016

My partner and I and two young children (2 and under) live in a village with the nearest town being 3 miles away (Biggar) where a bus can be taken. Edinburgh is about 25 miles and Glasgow just under 40 miles away.

We both have agricultural related jobs but we do not live on a farm. I have just returned back to work after being on maternity leave. I am looking for someone who can help for about 4 hours a day for their meals and a bed for the night. Work may involve gardening including weeding, planting, harvesting, lawn mowing, strimming, or painting fences. Indoor work may include help with general household chores. We have not lived here long so we are doing a few home improvements we might need a bit of help with, such as painting. You don't need to have experience with children but to like children would be good. Help might be needed to assist me with the children. If you enjoy cooking then your time could be used to help with cooking meals for the family. I myself enjoy cooking but with two small children to entertain by myself it is sometimes difficult without some help.

I enjoy crafts but have very little time to do any but if you are inspired to do anything in particular here then let us know. We can decide upon the jobs depending on what your strengths and preferences.

We can be flexible on when you work your hours so that you can make the most of the area whilst you are here. For example you might want to help double the hours one day to have a full day off the next. I work 3 days a week so it might be best suited for you to have your own day trips away while I go to work (would be able to take you and fetch you from a bus stop). I myself used helpX when I was travelling abroad so I will do my best that you have a good experience here and it won't be all work and no play. There are buses from Biggar (town 3 miles away) to Edinburgh and elsewhere and nearby train stations (Lanark - can take train to Glasgow) which we could give you a lift to.

Please note we live in a small village and there are hardly any public services (just a letter box) - there is no bus service (a walk of 1.5 miles to the main road but just ask and we might be able to take you to the bus stop), no shop, and no pub. We have a bike that can be borrowed. Probably best suited for someone who enjoys the outdoors, doesn't mind getting their hands dirty, and is often wearing walking boots / wellies.

Would prefer short stays (possibly about a week) but possibly could do longer. 2 weeks would be maximum. You would be living in our family home. One bathroom shared by whole family.

If you have any questions then please ask.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use