help exchange   Host 41324
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Alora
All Year: min. 1 month to 6 months
Area (ha): 3 hectares
Persons: 3 people max
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41324
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 9, 2017

Hi
We only take helpers from late August to End of June due to the temperatures.
Once you have messaged us and agreed to come on a certain date that space is then booked out. If you send a message, we reply but you then don't! You will be bypased by the next lucky helper
We really need longterm people....a minimum of one month.
Winter temps: day...15 to 30 night...5 to 15 Sept to June
Accommodation available:
Bell Tent sleeps 2 /3( single beds or a double)
Caravan sleeps 2 to 4 ( 1 double 1 large single)
All bedding supplied.
We recently built an outside Bathroom, from old recycled pallets.....complete with sink, bath, shower and composting toilet! No need to queue at the family bathroom anymore.

UPDATE: Help needed from Mid November onwards.....we are actively looking for helpers to join us and learn about permaculture and sustainable living, we are, in the near future opening a retreat, where people can come together and learn about sustainable living, food forests, permaculture, eco sandbag and straw bale building, mindfulness, meditation and lots more!
We need your help to make this dream come true.
In doing so, you will learn all of the above and receive fabulous accommodation and hearty meals!
You are welcome to bring your own tent if you prefer.
You will be working approx. 5 to 6 hours a day with weekends to do as you please, or if you want to swap a weekend day for mid week thatís fine too......it really depends on the weather and the priorities in hand!
*** There is now an opening for a couple to work alongside us full time. After 3 months trial, you will be given the opportunity to join us running the business and growing it.... you will receive ,.. a fully fitted fully functioning house for one year with a food allowance. After this first year, a wage will be agreed upon. For more details please email or message us ********
IMMEDIATE projects;
Collecting Almonds, sorting and bagging, ready to be taken to the markets for sale. ALMOND collecting now finished....
Pruning the Almond trees in readiness for the following harvest. Also collecting the firewood for the winter months.
Stone wall building around the trees for water preservation...finding and collecting the stones and rocks and then building. We have Carole here now and she has made 2 beautiful walls so far but we need more help! We have also made woven fences from broom.
Planting more trees...Lemons, Almonds, Oak Pecans and many more varieties, creating their own resistance to pests.
Digging Swales / terracing for water preservation

Looking for a maximum of 3 or more if you have tents!,,,,people to help with some serious work....MUSCLE is definitely required!
The work is heavy and hard going. We know ladies can be strong! I am the lady of the house and can lift some serious weight but this is not just an hour of work, so Ladies please bare this in mind.

Stone wall building
Olive collecting .........November /December
Pruning Almond and Olive trees
Chainsawing/ Chopping!
Looking after our Lemon Grove ( baby trees )
Digging and planting more trees, plants and herbs .... creating a Food Forest
Always odd painting jobs around the house
Finishing our underground Eco build from Earth bags
Helping to keep an eye on the chickens and building a new coop from recycled materials such as pallet wood.
Weeding and Strimming

The Retreat continued.........Up and coming projects...
We are looking to expand our Eco project, buying more land to turn our now small scale project into a fully functional permaculture farm, spiritual and educational Retreat. Spreading over 30 acres, we will be building a huge natural pond for irrigation and a system of Dams throughout the valleys on our land for rainwater collection.
Our aim is to inspire people to farm in a more sustainable way. Hopefully changing the face of farming for future generations.
We also hope to open a Retreat whereby people can come and stay, to experience how using permaculture techniques can change the face of farming.
A Retreat, also teaching meditation and mindfulness.

We are in the early stages of this project, near completion of the Eco house and are now ready to develop the land.
We need help immediately, we are open minded and welcome ideas and suggestions.
We are fun loving, easy going & lighthearted. We are very mindful of the effects of work on your bodies, so please be assured, there will be days of Almond/Olive collecting walking through the hills on a beautiful sunny day. To lifting, dragging rocks and branches on other days.

We already have 7.4 Acres (30,000m2) of beautiful unspoiled wild "Campo" Farmland in Andalusia, totally Organic location...but not yet certified.
Small Original Finca built on a plateau.
Quiet and secluded, 6km to the main road. ( 1.5 hour walk)
The wildlife is amazing and breathtaking,...totally peaceful setting with absolutely no light pollution, enjoy the evenings stargazing!!!!

We recently semi finished an Underground Eco earthbag home, built into the mountainside, arch window and door built using tyres, reclaimed wood for the roof beams from a wine bodega, antique arch windows, lots of interesting features!
Eco Building, Earthbag building, Straw bale building, underground building, learn how to and so develop your own building skills. ..although nearly finished now, Stacey ( husband) can teach you a ton of things about traditional building and eco building, pick his brains over a good homemade Organic evening meal!
Photos show Some of our Organic veggies, the fireplace in the underground house, before and after. Outside view of the underground house , nearly finished. And an overall view of the main house and terrain.

We are building ecologically, therefore also exploring the use of alternative energy systems.

Skills needed: general building ....lots of muscle, some common sense.
Computer/ website/ IT skills would be helpful now. Book keeping for a large scale business, SEO, marketing.
We intend to sell our Almonds online as well.
Also Oil and Almond oil in the future.
Spanish speaking would be a plus.
You will receive:
Three good meals a day, plus soft drinks, and a weekly bowl of fruit, anything extra must be paid for by yourselves, ....I try to cook with our homegrown veggies and have learnt tons about Spanish dishes....so lots of local input!
Cleanliness and Tidiness a definite, with a
Respectful and Polite nature!!!!!!

Our Home is small, it is our space, but with a large covered terrace, which becomes a sealed room in the winter, you have lots of space to chill out and relax.
We tend to spend a lot of time on our terrace, with dining and comfy sofas, this area is our social space which we would like to share with you.

Accommodation as above including:
Toilet/shower facilities.
Your clothes washed twice a week if necessary and of course bedding etc.
Free Wifi available, but with restrictions as used for work!.
Smoking only allowed outside.
Easy going, peaceful atmosphere, we moved here to get away from the hassle of UK London living 3 years ago ..

Location: We are 40 minutes north of Malaga, deep into the countryside. 15 minutes up a dirt track by car!
Local town, typical whitewashed Spanish pueblo with Bars, Restaurants, Supermarkets and Banks! Nearer there are Bars and Supermarkets.
There is a bus at the bottom of the track to Alora and Malaga.
Alora has a train station, 30 minutes to Malaga, where there are other trains which travel along the coast, including the airport.
We would pickup from airport if necessary.

We come from London, have always had our own businesses in Antique Restoration and Traditional building, so we know hard work!
Arty and Music loving household.

We have 3 Dogs one is big and friendly called George! 2 Puppies Macy and Rafa and 3 Cats Lizzie, Lottie and Lola.. so no allergies please!
We are not Veggies or Vegans, hearty healthy winter meals.
No Children or Animals, sorry!

Lots of Places of Local Interest:
Horse riding available locally.
Alora is an historic Moorish town, nestled in the hills of Andalusia. Seville, Ronda and Granada are within 2 hours away by car or train.
Malaga and the Costa del Sol 45 minutes away.
There is the local beauty spot of El Chorro with amazing vistas and natural parks, a climbing haven. Including The Caminito del Rey, The kings walk made famous by the film Von Ryans Express!
The Lakes of El Chorro are nearby for canoeing and kayaking.
On arrival we will talk through what is expected of you and what you would like to take from your experience here with us.
Lots to do and see,...........we can help you with planning your time off!
Welcome to ask as many questions as you like!
X
Sam x

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use