help exchange   Host 41406
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Lake Eugenia
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 41406
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 24, 2018

We open for March and will be starting on indoor planting and outdoor projects including washing planting pots, painting outdoor furniture and a small balcony.

An outdoor enthusiast paradise. Our home is two hours north of Toronto, in the hamlet of Eugenia. Many trails, caves, climbs and water holes to explore. Our backyard is the lake and Bruce Trails. I have adult and children's bikes. And access to two double man kayaks with rudders. During the winter there is sledding, skiing, snowmobiling and many trails for snowshoeing. You can walk to a convenience store in town, but there is no mall.

Your private room has a single bed with a single pulls out. My son has a bunk bed to accommodate a child. Our wish is to have a small family, a couple or a pair of friends that speak French to help us with my son's school work. We request a 2-4 week commitment.

I work 8-4, five days a week and have evening activities with my son. You must be self-sufficient and motivated to operate alone. I prefer a person or couple that can take the initiative in daily upkeep. Primarily you would assist me for an hour or two in the morning, then have the afternoon for personal space, hiking, biking, swimming, etc. Then assist with dinner, help in the yard or garden, and teach us French at night. I have an acre plot located 10km away on a friends farm. I like to visit the garden after work.

In the fall, I need the most help with processing food (juicing carrots and beets, making kale chips, and preparing soups) from the garden and house cleaning. Landscaping my sloped yard is a desire if the right person comes along to help. I would like to make some stairs and do terraced gardens. I have not done this yet so someone with knowledge would be awesome. The garage could use some shelves if you are handy.

My 7-year-old son is always eager to have some extra company to play. He is in French Immersion, and I am trying to improve, any help would be helpful.

We have two dogs and cat who primarily live outdoors but do venture in from time to time.

Food is as fresh and organic as possible. I love to create in the kitchen, and it seems to be my only creative outlet these days. I would like to share and learn recipes.

My interests are in Montessori based Education, Equal Opportunity Employment, Horticulture Therapy, Bio-dynamics, Permaculture, Language, Dance, Crafting, and Contributing to Humanitarian Efforts.

I look forward to hearing from you and why you would be interested in staying with us.

Warm Regards
Cristin and Declan

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use