help exchange   Host 41582
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Negotiable
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41582
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2018

I loved my first experience with Helpers last summer!
What you see is what you get- I do not promise four stars, but true seclusion and rustic comfort only 20 minutes from the vibrant art and craft town of Deloraine.
I need help catching up with the farm and house maintenance, because there was not time to do everything while I was studying at uni. I have now graduated with MSc (Chem) after 13 years.

Autumn has arrived with variable weather, however it will be mostly cool to mild, with wonderful sunny days. The highland native fagus shrubs will soon be in autumn colours nearby at Cradle Mountain.
I have been collecting and stacking winter firewood, more firewood limbs are needed for the kitchen stove. Other farm tasks include putting in a new sheep water trough, picking apples, harvesting vegetable seed, preparing paddocks for sheep mating and always blackberry control. Fence/gate repairs ideally need someone to help me who has some previous small farm skills.

"Fern-lea" is a humble historic farmhouse on a 5 acre (1.7 ha) small holding with vegetable and fruit gardens, 8 ewes, three wethers and a ram and three neutered female cats. It is a native vegetation bio-bank/habitat. Native bandicoots, potoroos and pademelons live here, and I have recorded 32 species of native birds as residents or visitors. Currently, snakes are using Fern-lea for food and refuge, and the black cockatoos and currawongs are loving the apples.
"Fern-lea" is at the end of the road among farming land close to the mountains. It runs on solar panels feeding into the grid, woodfired hotwater and cooking and wood heater. There is one guest room with a double bed. Two singles could also be accommodated. Bathroom is shared. "Fern-lea" is located between Deloraine and Cradle Mountain.
It is a peaceful place. Other farmstay places are nearby.
Help is needed on both farm and on the 1860s house. It is the time of year to clean windows doors and generally outside the house. Renovations inside the house will begin when the harvest season is past and the days are shorter. I need to remove old floor coverings in the kitchen to replace with new. Can you help get steel tacks out of masonite? I will buy a disc grinder. Painting walls inside and putting carpet down will be part of the inside renovations.
I run licensed small group personal tours of wild caves you can join as part of the offer. I also work part-time as a registered Bowtech physical therapist. I am a healer, and look forward to helping your back/neck/hayfever or whatever.
Take the time to relax and heal your soul while away from the crowds. The mountain landscape here is profoundly peaceful, with many short walks available to access the forests and wilderness nearby. The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area is my back yard. The beach, the highlands or the city of Launceston are within one hour's drive. The climate is lovely, never too hot or too cold for too long!
I have changing paid work commitments off the farm. Please don't despair if I am not able to get back to you immediately!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use