help exchange   Host 41625
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Napier
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2500
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41625
Region: Hawkes Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 9, 2017


Hi there we are located 1 hour from Napier and 2 hours from Taupo on a beautiful hill country station running sheep & cattle. The drive into the station will take you past the Mohaka river and through the Waitere Kiwi reserve. With the beautiful Mohaka River as our boundary and fantastic DOC walking tracks in the area there is plenty to see & do. We will do our best to show you our life on the farm.

Hawkes Bay is renowned for it's great wine, stunning scenery, great shopping & lots of activities. Farming, fishing, forestry, horticulture & viticulture are some of the predominant industries. Spend some time exploring the region, wine tasting at award wining vineyards or get a bit more adventurous at one of the local tourist attractions. Napier is famous for being the Art Deco capital of NZ.

We offer a comfortable sleepout containing a single bed or seperate accomodation suitable for couples or 2 friends, we have a modern comfortable home. Wifi is available but due to location isn't super fast. There is very limited mobile phone coverage. It is more suitable for a single person only but we may consider couples

We have 3 children Zara, Lily & Henry who are busy 4 year olds so you must like children, be good with them and experience with young children is ideal. We offer accommodation & meals in exchange for 4 hours help a day, however if you have any special dietary needs you will need to provide for this. Own transport desirable however I travel into town normally once a week so can collect you and you will have the opportunity to come to town with me. We are ideally looking for someone who would like to stay for a longer period however are open to shorter time frames but a week is the minimum.

Your main duties will be helping around the house and garden and with the children (playing with them, helping with their mealtimes etc) there may also be times when you will supervise them alone. The children have a pony each so it would be great if you are interested in horses! The household duties are things like hanging out washing, helping with meal prep, washing dishes, mowing lawns and weeding gardens etc. We are flexible with the hours to allow our Helpers to explore the area if they wish.

There is a horse available for your use if you are a confident experienced rider. We also have a holiday home at Mahia beach and previous helpers have enjoyed coming away with us, getting out on the boat and spending time at the beach.

We have been lucky enough to experience farm stays in other country's where we loved learning other cultures & would love to share our awesome way of life with others and learn about your culture.

If you would like to know a little bit more about us the TV show Country Calendar did a story on us on a previous farm we managed back in 2013. You can find the episode at:

http://www.tvnz.co.nz/on demand/country-calendar go to 2013 Episode 9

Here is a link to the show description.

http://tvnz.co.nz/country-calendar/guardians-land-5435551

This article recently appeared in the NZ Farmer and is on the farm we live on and tells you a bit more about us and what we do.

https://i.stuff.co.nz/business/farming/97277947/teaching-them-young-at-landcorps-waitere-station


We look forward to hearing from you :)

Please note we have limited mobile coverage so if you txt me & I do not respond within 24 hours I may not have received your txt so please either phone our landline or send me an email.

Photos:

Top 4 are our family & the farm, bottom 2 are of our wonderful helpers experiencing docking on the farm and looking after the children

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use