help exchange   Host 41683
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


jalhay
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41683
Country: Belgium

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 5, 2017

Hi, my name is Sylvain, I m a 31 years gardener ^^. Some years ago a couple of relatives bought a 7 ha meadow and asked me if I wanted to do something on it as they knew I enjoy gardening quite a lot.I accepted and got more and more interested in permaculture, agro forestry, food forest garden and so on.

Bernard, the ower of the place is a 75 and something paraglider, when the wind isn't good he likes to help mowning with the tractor. His wife Ruth is from switzerland and loves teaching languages to immigrants, baking carrot cakes and helping me protecting the newly planted trees.

This years, we are starting a 1000m2 vegetable garden with my friends Phil and Laura. The idea is to get a little more self-reliant. Phil is into computer science and Laura into medicinal plants. She might start growing some here soon. Both are really nice people. Beside that, I try some small fruit growing in order to have some productions to sell some day. We planted an orchad of 1ha with apple, pears, prunes, chesnust, walnuts and stared a food forest garden. So we always have things to do, including human photosynthesis when it's sunny :)

We mostly need help with the vegetable garden and the orchads; weeding, doing seedling, ect, mowing , harvesting, cleaning the geese shed, building and maintaining the sheds, petting Charly the cat, chopping wood.... Somethimes we also brew beers, do some canning or such things.

Me and most people I dwell with are vegetarian or eat really few meat, so don't expect any barbecues here. If you 're vegan, no problems we ll eat vegan.

Very near from Cockaifagne there are some nice forest and "les hautes fagnes" a charming natural park. You can have a montain bike and a map to discover the area if you want.

In summer I often sleep in Cockaifagne in an old trailer with a double and a single bed. It's low confort camping by now, no hot shower nor eletricty and sadly, one can hear the road when the wind comes from west. There is not much privacy so I d like to build something else for the visitors as soon as I got the time.

Otherwise I live in a big house in Fraipont with four girls, there's a kind of guest/music room before my room. My house mates are entertaining and love to party in Liège a lot. The area is quite nice there as well and there s a train station at 1 kilometre.

It's also possible to stay in my family house, where there's a double bed for guest in the living room. My mother really is a great person, especially if you 're interested in energetic healing. There are nice forests around and a beautiful lake 5 minutes by bike from the house.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use