help exchange   Host 41812
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Saint Jean de Paracol
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41812
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 19, 2017

We are located in the heart of the Cathar region, rich in history, stunning scenery and a strong alternative scene...

***Looking for helpers urgently to work on props for an event end of May. This includes:
Building a Bar,
Decor
BBQ Grill

Skills ideally woodwork and welding steel
_____________

This is who we are:

We are a brother and sister who live here with our families and our parents, Graham and Michelle; working together towards developing our land along permacultural principles, into a sustainable, harmonious, abundant system.
Graham and Michelle own and are renovating the main house into their dream home. Phil lives next door and owns a large, stone barn which he is renovating into his family home and workshop. Vanessa currently lives in the main house and is building a stable, for a donkey (or two) and developing ideas for a hobbit house in the same field as the stable.
We have a large barn used for storage and as a workshop; a herb garden, a large vegetable garden, a forest garden, a berry patch, ducks, chickens, geese, a dog, two cats and soon two donkeys.
This is our third year with this land and as such we are still very much in the groundwork stage, establishing systems and putting in basic infrastructure. There is a lot of work to do but it is varied and we do it to our rhythm, boredom is never a problem.
This is a small community of mixed French/English speakers and to nurture good community relations we regularly socialise together. We have quite a few children in the hamlet with friends always visiting so experience with children is a plus. So, you won't just be with our family but will be a part of the hamlet too.

Projects:

We have various projects on the go and so there are opportunities for you to do lots of different things.


Gardens - Planting seeds and bed care. We are experimenting with hugelcultur
Making compost tea and other healthy brews. This summer is going to be dry so we are mainly just mulching resting beds.

Water - we need to plan and build water storage/distribution systems for the gardens.

Poultry - digging and making a new swimming hole for the ducks
Occasional mucking out and feeding. We need a new Goose house built (lost two geese this winter to foxes)

Phil's Barn - Right now it is work on cutting the chevrons with a mobile saw mill ... fun outdoors stuff in the sunshine


Donkey Stable - building a water catchment around the new stable.

Woodworking - gates to construct and install
Fencing to be checked and mended if needed (keep the sheep out of the pottage)

Splitting and stacking wood for winter. Hauling trees out of the woods.
Tree Planting - it is the season now to replant the forest with selected hard woods, nut and fruit.

Events - making props and decorations for various community events and parties
Helping set up for any events

We have a big party coming up in April followed by two small festivals to build props for. We are looking for artists, metalworkers and carpenters to help build.

Cooking - helping out when you can, and cooking for everyone is also appreciated...

Work hours: 5hrs a day (but we are flexible)

What you get:

Accommodation in a comfortable, small mobile home converted from an old Russian army radio communications truck. It has one double bed, lights, a fridge, sink and radiator and is suitable for a couple. Phil's house has a shared bathroom and there is also a separate WC in the near house.
All your meals are with the family and you have open access to the kitchen in Phil's house plus WiFi (unfortunately there is as yet no signal in the Zil).
If you are vegetarian/vegan or have special dietary requirements (or you don't like our cooking!) you are welcome to prepare your own meals in our kitchen with the ingredients we have available. We appreciate it if you help tidy up around the place too.
We regularly go on excursions to places of interest in the area and occasionally caving and climbing, which you will be able to join us on if you like.

Languages:

English is our primary language but one or more of us also speaks Portuguese, French, German and Spanish.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use