help exchange   Host 41846
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Teignmouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 41846
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 16, 2017

I'm glad to say that I have Helpxers organised until about June 2018 to assist with my Airbnb. If you'd like offer your help beyond that time, do drop me a line. If you have a specific skill such as carpentry, carpet-laying, general DIY skills, and would like a few days near the seaside in exchange for doing a few jobs around my house, I'd welcome hearing from you at any time as I can usually accommodate an extra person short-term.

About me:
I'm a composer/songwriter/choirmaster/educator. I'm the world's first and only songwriter-in-residence with a Science Festival, with MIT in the USA, where I spend a few weeks each spring. I'm a single gay man, aged 61, and hold very liberal views both politically and socially. You can discover more about me by searching for "Puzjig" on Facebook or Instagram.

About the HelpXer I'm seeking:

I've been an AirBnb host since October 2016, and I've had a very busy summer with almost continous bookings, back-to-back. My Helpxers so far have been excellent as well as being great company. My HelpXer will assist me in co-hosting my guests, keeping the house clean, changing and laundering bedlinen, laying out breakfast foods, making tea and coffee.

My house has been under refurbishment for nearly two years now, and there are still many details awaiting attention - mainly decorative, such as painting, hanging pictures and mirrors, very minor DIY etc. I have a tiny garden, mainly plants in pots, so helping with watering plants, weeding and general tidying would also be useful.

There are times when I might be away for a day or two and my HelpXer will need to be the sole host during my absence so a confident, friendly, welcoming personality is important. I'm afraid I can't accept any pets at this time. I love cats and dogs, but I don't currently have the space or facilities for one to stay here, although I do allow my AirBnb guests to bring well-behaved pets from time to time. I'm afraid I can't accept couples either - I just don't have the room - though a visitor sharing your room for a few days would be quite acceptable.

You'll have your own small but light and airy room with a very comfortable king-size bed. The room has a large window - you can lean out and glimpse the sea beyond the roofs of the town. There is a small toilet right next door, and a bathroom down one flight of stairs with a spacious shower, double-ended bath and loo. This basement level also houses the very pleasant kitchen/diner and sun lounge, beyond which is the garden.

My HelpXer needs to be a total non-smoker - I'm afraid I really don't like the smell of cigarettes on clothes, so even smoking off the premises is not acceptable. However, vaping is acceptable as long as it's done outside the house and doesn't bother my guests. Moderate drinking is acceptable, but if you like to binge drink, or have any sort of problem with alcohol, please don't apply to help me.

I'm a long-term vegetarian, but I don't mind your being a carnivore as long as you're sensitive about storing, preparing and cooking your food. I really dislike the smell of fish being cooked however! I enjoy cooking for other people, so it would be great if you wanted to share meals sometimes.

To see the accommodation I'm offering to my paying guests, please search on Airbnb for the terms "Red Room" or "Blue Room", combined with "Teignmouth".

I would like a HelpXer who's very flexible about working hours as guests may arrive at any time of the day or night (though I have a key-safe facility for very late arrivals to let themselves in). I'd be working on the basis of a HelpXer working around 20-25 hours per week in exchange for accommodation and the supply of vegetarian foodstuffs either for shared or individual preparation. I am very happy to guarantee my HelpXer a full day off each week so they can go travelling, study, or just have a lazy day.

Teignmouth is a lovely, friendly, unpretentious seaside town in South Devon, and the beach is just a ten-minute walk away. The mainline rail station is seven minutes walk. The cities of Exeter and Plymouth are 25 minutes and 1 hour away by train respectively. Teignmouth is well-supplied with independent and national retailers - you can get pretty much anything you need right here. We have one of the best climates in the UK, and the beautiful Devon coast and countryside (including Dartmoor) is within easy reach.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use