help exchange   Host 422
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 67
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 422
Region: Quebec

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2018

Our farm is located in the beautiful rolling hills of the Eastern Townships where there are beautiful views and lakes. We have a large farm at the end of a dead end road and are quite secluded and surrounded by nature. Normalement nous parlons anglais chez nous mais nous parlons egalement le francais. Cathy est originaire de la Gaspesie et Chuck est originaire de NYC. We grow plants in our greenhouses in the winter for sale in the spring. In the summer we have a large organic garden and also flower gardens. There is lots of work but we always have lots of fun, laugh a lot, talk a lot, have really good food etc. We like to play Texas Holdem sometimes. These days we are working hard in the greenhouse transplanting, mixing soil and moving plants. In the greenhouse it is always summer. We often take small trips to Vermont and once a month we sing beautiful four part harmony. I practice Chinese meditation and am a Christian without being narrow minded. Cathy is passionate about subjects concerning the degradation of the environment and political and social injustice in the world. We both enjoy Facebook and there is high speed wifi in the house and we even have a spare laptop.
We have a wood fired sauna and a pond to swim in. Taking care of the vegetable gardens and flower gardens is the job that helpers do the most. That includes weeding and picking vegetables or berries. At this time of year someone who can cook would be very helpful since we are spending a lot of time in the greenhouse and selling our plants. A guy who is handy with tools or can cut wood would be very welcome also. But the most important attribute of a good helper is sociability. Come and find new friends.
We have a very large camper trailer for the helpers which is very clean and well heated. We have a very friendly dog and three cats. Our daughter who is 35 years old and her boyfriend are both living with us and working with us on the farm. Couples are welcome.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use