help exchange   Host 42779
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Te Awamutu
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 1-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42779
Region: Waikato

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2017

June 2017 Hi there. Times have changed recently at our place. We used to rear lots of calves....but now we are trying our hand at rearing kids...baby goats :) Not for the faint hearted...but if you are up for a challenge and want to come and help feed them for a couple of hours a day in return for a warm bed and being fed well check us out .For the rest of the year our block of land is pretty much the same.
The work we envision for helpers to help with is splitting firewood( we have a wood splitter ) and planting native trees and helping dig a drain on our hillside where there is a natural spring. Also just general jobs around the block...so its all reasonably physical work , which we will work along side you with , and we are flexible as to if we work longer one day to have next day off to explore the region. We are half an hour from Waitomo Calves and from Maungatautari mountain, and Hamilton city. We are 10 minutes drive from Te Awamutu so having your own transport work be an advantage, but not essential.
We have spare beds in the house, and upstairs in the shed, and also in our Bus.
We would like to have 2-4 helpers here at once to really get stuck into our jobs.
Looking for physically fit people, couples ok, who like to get stuck in and get a job done, and then relax and socialise under our 'Beer' tree.
Nearly forgot to add that we are looking at these jobs being done in November, as we are slowing down on our jobs with the calves.
Also just to reassure you I'm a good cook so you will be feed well :) Look forward to making this work for both host and helpers.
Have had a great first experience of HelpX helpers this week...weve had 5 helpers here and we have really enjoyed it...but don't worry there are still more jobs to be done :)
Just been adding to my list of jobs and when the weather is more settled we will have some painting to do.
Most of the wood splitting has been done but will still fine a few more jobs to be done, a few hedges to be trimmed, weeding to be done, apples to bottle and to dehydrate etc
July 2016 Just updating our listing here...some things have changed as we are not reaing 800 calves this year, but still have some jobs to get done around the block like pruning, weeding, clearing branches from a tree that blew down, and preparing vege garden for the spring. Also never ending household jobs like cleaning windows, sharing your cooking skills and some DIY jobs like sanding some old doors.
October 2016 now and we have a weeks work for two or three people. Moving truckloads of firewood from one shed to another
December 2016 now and where has the year gone. We are fairly busy with family for the next couple of weeks so wont really have time or room for HelpX workers but try us again after Christmas and I'm sure we will have another list of jobs that need doing

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use