help exchange   Host 42924
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kettering
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.8
Persons: 1-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42924
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 19, 2017


We are currently looking for helpers to lend a hand with trimming a huge conifer hedge, building a vegetable garden, and some general property maintenance.This will be fairly physical work so we are looking for fit, able bodied helpers with a positive attitude :) We are looking for help anytime after the 29th of October.

We live overlooking Bruny island on a beautiful 12 acre property - with two self-contained guest cottages. We also have a small vineyard.

We moved to the over property in October 2015, and Russel's mum, Helen, who resides on the property, looks after the cottages and the bookings. We also work as veterinarians and look after the property ourselves on our days off. We have a pesticide-free vegetable garden, our own bee hives and a whole flock of chooks and ducks.

Accommodation is a private downstairs bedroom with its own bathroom, queen bed and unlimited high speed NBN wifi, with shared living spaces and kitchen.The house has a wrap-around glass conservatory, keeping it super warm and providing stunning sea views. We have two feline 'kids', who live indoors with us. We are largely vegetarian.

Kettering is a short walk down the road, and the ferry to beautiful Bruny Island departs locally. There is a bus route available from Hobart and, as we work in Hobart, we are happy to drop off/pick you up after work on your days off.

We are looking for helpers to assist with blackberry spraying, maintaining the vineyard ( we are still novices in managing our vineyard), a few small building projects, installing water tanks,painting our tractor shed and some work in the garden.Helen may occasionally require some assistance with cleaning the cottages. We take a great deal of pride in our property and in our work and are looking for helpers who do the same. Some of the work can be quite physical and we are looking for helpers who are physically capable, practical and enjoy the satisfaction of putting in a hard days work and being part of a project.

Miriam is a great cook and enjoys preparing fresh, healthy meals from our veggie garden. We eat very well and are very health conscious with our food. We have a great outdoor pizza oven and often enjoy home made pizzas on summer evenings.

Work hours include helping us on our days off for a full day (three-four days a week), with three-four days off to explore. We have had great experiences with our helpers over the last 12 months and are still in touch with many of them. We have a work hard, play harder attitude towards life and are both very fit and active. We have also recently bought a boat and enjoy a couple of hours out on the water, exploring, water skiing or catching some fish for our dinner.

We are all non-smokers.

We are new to beautiful Tasmania, running a vineyard and accommodation business. We love the outdoors, hiking, camping,mountain-biking and rock-climbing and have had great fun sharing these with our helpers.

We have travelled in the UK, US and Europe and love meeting travellers - we lived in our van in the US for 6 months before coming to Australia in 2001 - and are still in contact with people we met as travellers back then.

We would love to hear from people who are enthusiastic, motivated and can work hard, and who want to fill their free time exploring the beautiful surrounding area. If this sounds like you, please contact us!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use