help exchange   Host 43044
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Forest Range
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 43044
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 7, 2017

This is a beautiful little farm surrounded by native forest and apple and cherry orchards. Yum! I live alone except for ducks and geese, oh and my pet python. I like reading, can make reasonable coffee and try to eat only food I harvest.

I have spent most of my life working in conservation biology. I have traveled to many countries and also done a bit of volunteering, including two years volunteering in Wadi Rum in Jordan in 2011-13 working on threatened species reintroduction.

I am now settling down a bit and putting my efforts into my own parch of earth. Two years ago I bought a cottage on a small and very neglected old organic farm. I am restoring an apple orchard and have planted a variety of other fruit trees and a vegetable garden. I have put in solar power, rainwater tanks and am making the house energy efficient. My aim is to be reasonably self-reliant.

I need help on the farm looking after the trees and garden and doing landscaping, building, planting, beekeeping and lots more! This is a relaxing place, with lots of quiet. At night it is properly dark, and there is no traffic noise or barking dogs!

There are lots of walks in the bush or around the neighboring farms and some pushbikes you can borrow. I have a wood fire, a fine veranda for sitting and contemplating and a hammock in the trees to escape the summer heat. There are wineries up the road to visit. This really is some of the most idyllic and scenic countryside you can imagine.

It is very, very peaceful here, and if you like to retreat from a busy world, this is the place to do it. I work away from the farm some days so you will have it all to yourself some of the time.

I like playing the guitar and listening to music. I don't have a television, there are better things to do. I go for the odd run or walk in the forest, make home-brewed beer, bottle and dry fruit and work on the farm, I like good conversation and listening to both travel stories and life stories. I can laugh at most things, mostly keep busy and really love living here. So will you. Travelers are always very welcome. You should swing by; I'll put the kettle on.

There are many things to do! You could work in the house, cook, bottle fruit, mow the orchard, garden, do bee-keeping, landscaping, paving, stone walls, painting, vegetable gardening, fruit picking/pruning or shed stuff! I want to build an extension on the house; any builders out there?

I have two spare rooms in a small house. There are lovely places to camp if you like. Cook together or separately, I don't mind.

PLEASE be aware that I am reliant on rainwater, and have not completed a large enough storage tank. For this reason, economy with water is very important from October to April. So, you must be good at having short showers, not leaving the tap running etc. :O)

There is lots of bush all around for hiking. The nearest bus stop is 5km and the nearest town is 11km. It is very relaxing here and you will need to enjoy the quiet. No TV but lots of books, birds and a beautiful environment. There are buses to/from Adelaide, I can usually get you from the bus stop. There is a wildlife park nearby with tame kangaroos, koalas etc. I have plenty of good books you really should try to read, take one onto the veranda.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use