help exchange   Host 43087
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 maximum
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43087
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 18, 2018

******NB UPDATE Sunday 18/2 *******

*Seeking house and dogsitter while away, Wed Feb 28 to Monday March 5 - you can possibly stay on longer after that once I return to the house, to do other work such as general cleaning and helping to lay a small area of bamboo flooring on the upstairs landing*

I'm currently open to having someone stay here on a "demi au pair" basis, willing to work part time in exchange for accommodation. Approx 2-3 hours a day.

Initially, a bit of a "blitz clean" and bit of furniture re-arranging, as I don't have the physical capacity to do this.

Tasks would include light maintenance work such as painting touch ups, cleaning, light gardening, cooking, grocery shopping, childcare, dog walking/feeding. Some shared meals and access to the fridge and kitchen facilities to cook, the rest of the time. In other words, part time home help part time house share arrangement, with access to amenities. I am not in a position to supply all meals but envisage eating together some of the time, having meals prepared for me and my child some of the time, and eating separately when needed, too.

The room is small but light and airy, fine for those travelling light.

I'm after someone who is self-motivated, time efficient, good with kids (11 yr old boy) and dogs, tidy, doesn't need constant supervision, and has the maturity to negotiate how the house is respectfully used and shared.

Thank you!


I live in a lovely intentional community, very close to Fremantle and five minutes from the beach. There are great opportunities to engage with the community around us e.g. twice-weekly dinners during the school terms. We have an onsite composting and mulching system for green waste, rainwater tanks to flush toilets, and a grey water system.

I am joining as an individual however, as I currently need help around my house. I am a single mother of one eleven year old child and cannot for physical reasons currently do all the gardening, lifting and other things that help to make it feel like home.

I'm a musician, linguist, writer and Mum, with a degree in Anthropology and an interest in supporting health choices. I enjoy reading, writing, the beach, quiet holistic living.

We have a lovely, placid Jack Russell terrier who is both friendly and a good guard dog!

I am looking for a self-responsible, energetic "au pair" type person who would be happy to stay short term, a bed in exchange for some defined tasks. Mainly cleaning, cooking, dogcare and childcare.


Childcare police clearance or references preferred

My son is with me roughly ten days out of fourteen, and currently over Summer holiday break, but we have a small room with a double sofa bed that can be slept in comfortably.

Being a community, there is also some common garden space and extra social space to relax in, as well as our private garden. Very friendly neighbours!

I look forward to hearing from people who can balance community-mindedness, and also be self-sufficient quiet-living and respect privacy.

NB I speak fairly good French and some German, a little Indonesian and Japanese!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use