help exchange   Host 43235
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wellington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 (sometimes 2)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43235
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 10, 2017

- - If you're interested in staying with us, please let us know why you think it'd be a good fit. No mass emails please! - -

We're a busy bilingual family of 5 with 3 energetic boys aged 9, 7, and 3 years old.

We're a happy, active lot and live in a spacious, warm and dry house right by Karori Park and Makara Peak Mountain bike park. Mountain biking tracks, bush walks, the park and playground are on our door step and we're always out there using them. (Mountain bike hire available at bike shop close by!)
Fab bus connection to the city (17 mins - goes about every 10 mins), plus great local facilities such as library, pool, shops, cafes within walking distance.

We generally host 1 or 2 helpers. Your work hours are around 3 hours/day/person in exchange for accommodation and shared family dinner. You bring your own food for lunch and breakfast. You'll have your own sunny room with a queen bed and your own bathroom, and you'd stay with us as a welcome part of the family, with shared dinner, access to our WIFI, washing machine, house and garden and to all that Wellington and our lovely surroundings have to offer. Haere mai!

Details on work expectations: We'd love help with...
- daily tidying up after meal times (esp dinner), dishes, putting toys away, clearing and sweeping floor, while we put the kids to bed
- cooking meals (all dinners, or at least some of them)
- household jobs such as folding washing, sorting stuff, tidying, window cleaning...

- engaging, playing, chatting with the kids, esp our littlest; und ganz besonders auf Deutsch (-:

- gardening, e.g. weeding, cutting bushes, working on our small organic veggie patch, composting, etc.
- Some DIY work would be great, such as fixing stuff, small bits of concreting, etc
- Other rarer jobs could be painting the fence, organising the garage or tool shed, waterblasting, whatever comes up.

Last, but not least: We're keen to learn what skills, experience, and ideas you bring to our home: If you play the piano, recorder or guitar, you could practice with our kids. If you know some good games or have drawing, crafting, soccer, cricket, swimming, dancing skills, you name it - you're welcome to share them with our family! And please do tell us about your home country and culture and teach us a bit of your mother tongue.

Thanks for reading and safe travels!






Photos: Helper room. Our neighbourhood as seen from a local walking/biking track on Makara Peak. Family bike outing.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use