help exchange   Host 43578
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Balingup
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43578
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2017

We are a family of 4, we have been travelling Australia in our motor home for 3 years now, but have paused in our adventure to save some money. We are currently in the south west of WA. It's a beautiful area, and we are centrally located to explore everywhere from Bunbury to Albany. There is also lots of vineyards, olive groves and apple orchards, so paid seasonal work is close by if you would like to work. We are happy to work out schedules so that you can gain paid employment.
We homeschool our eldest child, he is 8. Our young one is 2.

We are looking for someone to be part of our family, mainly to help look after the children, help out with chores etc. but we also have some projects that need doing on our motorhome and jobs around whatever property we are working on. You will have your own room in a cosy 4 bedroom farm house. we offer you board and good food in exchange for 20 hours of your time. We are able to accept 2 people as the work is so varied that you could join us as an au pair, or a handy person, or a combination of both. At the moment we are also painting the house we are living in, so if you are dab with a paint brush you can help us with that too.

Jason is an arborist and I am a chef, so if you would like to learn skills from either of year jobs we are happy to teach you. We will help you out with your English skills, and all night time meals are cooked for you. We will also endeavour to take you on day trips to local attractions.
We are a bit remote (google us so you know before coming), so if you don't have a car, you need to be prepared to be with us all the time.
We have a second car that we can loan, but only to experienced drivers who hold a current international drivers license and you will be required to pay an extra drivers fee on our insurance and any excess payable as a result of an accident.
Internet is limited here as we rely solely on mobile broadband, so be sure to download everything you need before you come. We are able to provide a small amount of internet for skyping with family, emailing, helpxing etc. but ANYTHING ELSE you will have to purchase your own data packs.
If you like bushwalking there is the Bibbulum and Munda bidda trails within walking distance from our home, and the bibbulum hut is close by so if you want to do a hike and stay at the hut, we can collect you from there. There are also some great swimming spots that we will take you to regularly. Jason likes 4wding, so he can take you in the bush for an adventure, there is heaps of native wildlife around, kangaroos by the hundreds, emus, birds, lizards and of course the dreaded but beautiful snakes.
We are a very easy going family, we work for ourselves, so our schedules are very flexible, we have travelled the east coast of australia extensively so can give you suggestions of places to see and things to do over there. We are able to give you a temporary postal address so you can sort out bank accounts and tax file number if you have just arrived in australia.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use