help exchange   Host 43777
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Offenbach-Hundheim
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2 to 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 43777
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 1, 2017

FULL UP NOW THROUGH JANUARY, LOOKING FOR FOLKS IN SPRING & SUMMER (starting after April).

I'm a woman artist (63 yrs), healer, herbalist, archivist, teacher living on an old stone farm with abundant fruit trees, berries, veg gardens, medicinal herb gardens, 2 cats and eventually bees. American, but have lived in Deutschland for a long time - only in this place for a couple of years, much renovation in the works including retreat rooms, seminar rooms, wine making (local micro-vintner), fiber arts studio, painting studio, gallery space...
all help welcome. The gardens are all grown organically, much permaculture, basic bio-dynamic principles, homeopathic and herbal solutions. Renovations/restorations being done with archival building methods.

General idea is 4-5 hours/day, 5-6 days/wk, and it will depend on what's happening for you and for me. 2 beautiful guest rooms available now, sharing my kitchen. Much of our food's grown here, not all. I'll provide basic eats, we cook together, extras are your own lookout. Not vegetarian, but have long experience with that and am adaptable; various food allergies; light smoker, mostly outside; no drugs thanks, and moderate alcohol. Good WiFi in the house, free phone within Germany.

Lots to do in this area - 1 1/2 hrs southwest of Frankfurt, 1 hr from Wiesbaden or Heidelberg, near Idar-Oberstein and Bad Kreuznach. Interesting mountainous farmland with lots of forest, near enough to urban centers. Less than 1 hr from Frankfurt/Hahn airport, which most of the budget airlines use.

Lots to learn here, and I look forward to hearing from you! Will fill in more detail on specific tasks for different seasons. Spring is prepping gardens and planting, summer tending them and harvest/processing, fall is more harvesting and clearing things for winter. Renovation work of various sorts all year, and can always use help with bookkeeping, computer org, cleaning and maintenance. I'm also doing a long term archive project of a major American herbalist, as well as working on my own books.

NOTES AFTER 6 MONTHS OF HELPXERS HERE:
It's been wonderful, lots accomplished and sweet, uncomplicated friendship and good conversation. Very heartening and I've recommended HelpX to several folks, both as hosts and as helpers.

Because there's only one of me and I'm far from On Vacation, please know that I'm expecting visitors to pitch in with cooking and normal maintenance in addition to the work projects. That means taking turns making the evening meal (with ingredients I'll provide) and participating in the Sunday cleaning day, whatever becomes obvious to keep up with the extra traffic here. Good to know going in.
Everything's flexible, including cooking-and-cleaning lessons if that fits! I love the variety that each person brings to the mix.

Right now I'm only looking for short term HelpXers - a month at most - and you really do need to have your own insurance. Applying to stay with me will be agreeing to be responsible for your own health and safety. I'll protect you as I can - for example, good anti-tick solutions - but feeding extra folks is already a financial stretch for me.

PLEASE!: If you've said you want to come and then your plans change, you can let the Host know with a very brief email. Others are being turned away to hold that place for you - please give everyone a break (and a little love) and communicate. Thank you.

One other thing to be clear: as I said above, I am not on holiday or in retirement. There are many things happening here all the time – my Praxis, my writing, professional painting, administration work… plus the never-ending garden and house projects.
Visiting time with me is usually during meals or while doing other tasks like picking or cleaning fruit, weeding the garden, etc. Although I can give advice and suggestions, people from HelpX must be independent for your wandering and relaxing time.

There are many good books here to look at, nature to roam in, small local events to find. There is no television except through the WiFi, so if any of you are interested in that you must bring laptops or etc.
I hope you understand that your visit will not be the center of activities here, rather on the edges and fitting in as you can. It’s a beautiful place and I love to share it. There is not much time for me to also make entertainment. Here in Hundheim is a great combination of peaceful and chaotic/active ! Just like in nature.

I say it now so you know what to expect. There are some HelpX hosts who can afford to relax and focus on the fullness of every visitor’s experience… that is not me!





Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use