help exchange   Host 44267
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44267
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 27, 2016

Hi, My name is Rosie and I am a 34 year old girl from Ruse, a city on the Danube river.

I recently returned home after 13 years in the US (Utah) and decided to embark on a path of making something good in my home country, Bulgaria.

To make this happen I have taken my first step and purchased a little home in a village just 45km from my home town but in a national park area and valley called the 'lom valley'.

In this area the villages are very deserted because the population has moved to either cities, or due to the European union, abroad to places such as England or Germany. This means the villages are quiet places with an aging population.

Which is crazy, because people don't know what they are missing! Anyone who loves eco living knows the joy of a rural lifestyle. But I want to go one step further and create a great sharing community here.

The future is bright- I see little micro businesses set up in the valley- crafted cheeses, hairloom vegetable growing, honey products, wood carvings, jewelry making, glass upcycling, all possible. These are all projects that I want to start here; I am taking empty houses and commercial space and land where I will hope to establish these micro setups and tempt people 25-40 to come and live here, and be part of a great productive community spirit of sharing inside the network.

At the moment I just want people to come and stay with me and make my life a little brighter to see some free spirits and to share my ideas. I like yoga, healthy eating, and going back to basics. I want similar minded crafty people to come stay with me and see if they like it here. Perhaps I can tempt you to move here and join my vision!

I also need people to come and help me finish the repairs on the house. I just need a little help with plumbing, some yardwork, the kitchen needs finishing, some old fashioned plaster as I exposed the beams in the house and found it was mud plaster, need to finish that.

I have a nice traditional cob oven in the garden and if you like to make bread or pizza then you will love it for sure!

Around the village are a lot of nice hills and views, people still ride horses and carts through the village and it is very old fashioned. don't expect a lot more than a nice rural retreat here.

I am easy about times of work and helping- but please don't try and take advantage of me and expect to freeload because if I don't get a good vibe off you I will be direct and ask you to leave. Sorry, a girl has to look after herself.

If anyone is interested please shoot me a line. Look foward to seeing you this christmas!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use