help exchange   Host 45011
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Soto de la Marina
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 45011
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 27, 2017

Hello! We are Arcadi and Sara, and our sons are Edén (4 years old) and Río (22 months old). Sara's parents are chinese, but she was born in Spain and lost chinese language. We would like our kids to be able to communicate in chinese, but if that is not your case, we do not mind at all. We are living in a house very close to the sea (playa de Covachos and La Arnía), and rounded by nature. But do not panic: we have WiFi! although its speed is not that much, it is ok for communication and even for watch a video :D Besides, there are two restaurants where you can go by foot, and another 2 you can also go by foot, but better by car or bike. In 6 minutes by car you can arrive to Liencres, the nearest town, known by its fantastic beaches (like 7 in total!), sacred places for surfers. And we are 10 minuts by car far from Santander (capital of Cantabria), which has an airport with flights to several cities of Spain and Europe.
Sara is doctor. Arcadi is artist. Edén is very smart and sweet, he is a sun. Río is a blessing baby, he is quiet, a ball-y baby (don't know if this word exists!)

Since we became parents, we are more conscious about several things. We try to do attachment and conscious parenting. If these words are strange for you, then we might not be the family you are looking for, because helping us (regarding to taking care and interacting with kids) in our house could be difficult for you (it is for us!). If you know or are interested in what I am talking about, then our home is your home. It is about respecting the kid's essential being and rythms. It is about helping them to manage their emotions, not to hide or shut them up; accompanying and guiding them. They are our masters and beat our ego and teach us how to be at the very present moment. Do you know Montessori, Wardolf, Laura Gutman, Alice Miller? Unschooling or homeschooling?
Also, whenever we can, we eat green/ecological/organic food. We are not vegetarians but we try to eat the least meat we can (and we are willing to quit meat and fish). We do not eat prepared food and drinks, we eat very few cow's milk products. We do not drink soda, we do not eat refined sugar products. Well, we try to, but sometimes we just eat them :) Healthy food means healthy body, mind and spirit.

Our home is a temple where evey kind of storms are calmed, not contained.

We would like to share our culture, lives and house with a helper that helps us with the housekeeping or house chores, cooking food, staying with kids...

Our house has 2 floors. We have a room with bunk bed, its own bathroom and even its own kitchen (downstairs).
It has a big garden, with trees.

It is our first time doing this, but I think this is a good idea and could work! As we are so respectful and easy going persons. We are very curious and love knowing new people, views, perspectives... different, but always constructing ones!

So, mainly we are overloaded with work, kids and house. I work from 8 am to 3 pm (so that means I am out of house from 7 am to 3,30 or 4 pm). I am avoiding to work on call (which means 32 hours out of house!). Arcadi usually stays in mornings with kids and prepares the meals, but he also needs to work. So the idea is to cover the different areas: being with kids, cooking, laundry, cleaning... We reaaaally need a hand (or two!). Parenting is so wonderful, but also so tiring sometimes!

SO, THE MAIN HELP WE NEED IS: someone who can cook all the meals, better if the recipes are vegetarian. Most important meals are LUNCH AND DINNER. The helper will have to keep the kitchen clean (it will be your space!). You can take responsability of the food shopping, but we can order it and ask for home delivery. In case you want to go for food shopping (so you can take advantage of the moment and get to know places, people, practice your spanish, etc) you can do it, of course, but you will need a way of transportation besides your foot! bike, car, bus...

SO, you will be expected to prepare:
BREAKFAST (7-8 am) and BRUNCH (you can prepare it with breakfast)
LUNCH: kids: 12-1-2 am. I will arrive at 4 pm. No need to cook different dishes, I will reheat my food by myself.
SNACK: 5-6pm.
DINNER: 8-9pm.

ANOTHER WAY OF HELPING US, if you are not keen on cooking: SPENDING TIME WITH KIDS. In this cas,e we will send you some links about how we are trying to interact with them :) In this case, as kids are impredictible, the time of helping is not so defined... so it is up to how you and the kids feel with each other.

Please feel free to contact us for further info!

URGENT!!! we need help now, as soon as possible.

Thank you!!!!

FRESH NEWS!!! WE ARE MOVING!! So we will add the task of packing to our huge list, hahahaha. If you are staying with kids while we are packing, that would be fantastic. WE ARE EXPECTED TO LEAVE THIS FABULOUS HOUSE (WITH ALL THE PAIN OF OUR HEARTS!!!) IN APRIL.
WE WILL UPDATE WITH NEW PICTURES OF THE NEW HOUSE AND PLACE (IN EXTREMADURA).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use