help exchange   Host 45058
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Proenca-a-Velha
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45058
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 13, 2016

We are a smallholding on 5 hectares in Central Portugal. It's our 4th year here and now we feel like we can offer some helpful experience to people who want to learn how to manage a small farm.

We grow fruit and veg using Portuguese traditional techniques, companion planting with a mix of permaculture principles. It's a trial and error to see what works and what doesn't in Portuguese soil, so we constantly experiment.

We have sheep, goats, chickens, ducks, geese, cats and dogs, so you will get a hands-on experience in animal husbandry. It's our second year of keeping bees. We pick olives and make olive oil, we do a lot of preserves and save seeds. We make cheese, yogurt, and soap from goats milk. We've built a kitchen with a cob oven, so you can learn how to operate it (in winter months) and how to a make your own bread and pastries (in a gas oven during summer).

The land itself is beautiful with gorgeous views a few kilometers from a quiet village. Regional center is only 15 km away, and a big city 36km away. The closest lake is around 9 km away, so you can swim and go fishing. We'll provide a bicycle and fishing gear.

There is a lovely, friendly atmosphere and down to earth, practical experience for those who needs one in order to move onto your own adventure. We love cooking vegetarian and meat/fish meals, and very often you would be eating with us Thai, Chinese or Indian food as these are our favourites.

We'd be happy to give you cooking lessons if you are so inclined. At last, it's just the two of us, a husband and a wife, and we have no kids. We'd prefer to work with another couple as well. My husband is more outgoing and loves interacting with people, I'm a bit quieter, and if you are a reader, I'll have plenty of books to share.

You would need to help with general chores on the farm: garden maintenance, animal care, and projects dictated by seasons: building, harvesting, making preserves, planting, collecting wood, etc. We are looking for a couple at certain times of the year for a variety of tasks. A few days house/farm sitting might be involved.

There is a mattress in a guest house, good food, shower, gas, electricity (solar), composting toilet. If you are coming in your own caravan/motorhome, there is a picturesque secluded spot for you to park. You will have an access to WiFi internet although we'd ask not to download anything big as our access is limited.

There are lakes and parks around and one of the most beautiful medieval villages in Portugal, Monsanto. Spanish border is very close. Lots of interesting villages to explore on a bicycle. Medium sized towns of Penamacor and Idanha-a-Nova, big cities of Castelo Branco and Fundao. Stunning countryside.

We speak English, Russian and a little bit of Portuguese.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use