help exchange   Host 45060
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Christchurch
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 766sqm
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 45060
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 19, 2017

I have four lively children from the ages of 5-10 years. The children are usually home from Monday to Friday and some weekends, the rest of the time they are with their Dad.

I am a qualified teacher currently studying part time at University. It would be great to have a helper who is confident managing children then I could do some part time work during university holidays. However I have plenty of other jobs to be done if you are not so confident with kids. I need someone to tidy up the garden, plant some spring seeds and a build a bean fence. I also really appreciate help around the house with cleaning, cooking and washing clothes. I am happy to arrange work to suit your strengths and skills. If you wish to work longer one day and have the next day off that can be arranged.

The house is in Burnside which is near to the airport, so quite a good place to stay if you are planning to fly on to your next location. There is a bus stop nearby which has frequent services to the city and around Christchurch. There is also a bicycle available for our helper to use.

There is not a spare bedroom for our helper but there is a comfortable single bed in the rumpus room - this is a shared space that also includes the laundry (shown in the first two photos). We prefer to have one person at a time but may be able to accommodate a second person if you are willing to sleep on a mattress on the floor in your sleeping bag. We have plenty of space as there is also a large lounge and dining room and even a hammock on the deck! To stay here you must like children and not mind noise and chaos!

It is great if our helpers feel that they are part of the family and help themselves to food. Guests usually help themselves to breakfast and lunch and sometimes will need to make their own dinner (food provided). Most of our guests choose to eat dinner with our family. No special diets catered for - but you are welcome to bring your own food or/and cook for yourself.

Only non-smokers are taken and it is great if our helpers make an effort to speak in English when around us and our family. If you wish to stay with us it is important that you are able to converse easily in English as it makes it very difficult when we cannot communicate easily. We really enjoy learning about different countries and cultures. We have hosted many helpers over the past 18 months and truly love the experience.

Usual exchange - 4 hours work for food/room/internet.

You will definitely get to experience busy family life staying with us! We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use