help exchange   Host 45994
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Hawarden
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45994
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2016

Hi!. We own a boutique horse breeding and feijoa farm.
Our family of five would like to invite you to stay with us at our sweet-as property at the gateway to Lake Sumner National Park.
We breed thoroughbred race horses and have a 300 tree feijoa orchard.
We are currently building a sleepout cabin with a double bed and a single bed, but until that's finished you can stay in your own room in the house with us.
We will make an effort to help you see some of the local area and meet some local people. However, we don't have a car for you to use. We will provide all of your food, but you might have to do some cooking yourself.
We are both well travelled and can speak German. Serena is a lecturer at the University of Canterbury and can pick up and drop off people in Christchurch. Tim is a teacher at the local school.
Tim runs two conservation programmes in the area. The Nina Valley Restoration Group (see Facebook) undertakes predator control and kiwi monitoring in the Lewis Pass. The other project involves predator control and fauna monitoring in the local Medbury Scientific Reserve. You may have the opportunity to contribute to these ecology projects.
Tim makes cider and wine and you can help with this and learn how to do it yourself. From February to May he tours the local area collecting apples from roadside trees (scrumping).
We would especially like people who are confident working with horses, but this is not essential.
We do expect volunteers to do four hours of work a day, but can certainly organise days off when wanted.
Look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use