help exchange   Host 4606
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Buderim
All Year: Not over xmas
Area (ha): 1/4 acre
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 4606
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 20, 2017

Availability from November - January.

I am located at the Sunshine Coast at Buderim, 4km from beaches and close to public transport.

I am a professional female working to establish a sustainable garden using permaculture principles. My goal is to produce as much food of my own as possible. I have chickens and guinea pigs. I enjoy teaching helpers practical gardening skills and basic permaculture, organic gardening and cooking skills using garden produce.

A prior knowledge / experience of gardening or permaculture is an advantage. Workers need to be very interested in learning about permaculture gardening, motivated, have a good eye for detail and able to follow detailed instructions, and have the ability to work independently while using some initiative. I prefer non-smokers.

Routine daily assistance includes:-
harvesting herbs, vegetables and fruit
watering small plants
maintaining composting bins,
looking after worm farm,
feeding chickens and guinea pigs
cleaning chicken and guinea pig house

Gardening work involves:-
hand watering seedlings and gardens,
harvesting herbs and seeds from the herb gardens,
mulching gardens with straw /hay,
Maintaining paths by spreading bark chip or sawdust,
weeding paths and garden beds,
pruning branches from shrubs, bushes,fruits trees,
chopping dead branches for the compost,
planting seeds and cuttings,
making seed raising and potting mix and
planting seedlings.

The current project is to set up a permanent propagation area. Other work includes constructing garden edging, digging paths and laying pavers.

Work is 4 hours a day with the option of working 4 hours a day or working 8 hours in one day followed by 1 day off can be negotiated.

Helpers will have time for exploring and enjoying the Sunshine Coast as I am close enough to allow visits to the rainforests and walks in the hinterland, Glass House mountains and the main beaches at Noosa, Coolum, Maroochydore, Mooloolaba and Caloundra.

Accommodation is in the family home generally with own bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast and lunch are self catered using my ingredients and the evening meal is eaten with the family. A vegetarian diet supplemented with fish is provided and helpers are expected to assist in the preparation and clean up of the evening meal. Please contact me by email if you are interested in a stay at my home.

I very much value the assistance provided by helpers and continue to enjoy the opportunities provided by the cultural exchange of meeting new people. I also enjoy helping with English if requested.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use