help exchange   Host 4623
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Ariege
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 4623
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 25, 2017

After 6 years of building and work on our land we have moved into our eco/self build stone buildings! We want to thank all the various Helpxers who have helped us and kept us thinking positively and shared our project.
We are now doing smaller finishing projects including building a green roof garden'shed'! We are also continuing to manage our woodland and preparing firewood for next winter's heating.
So we are looking for,'up for it' practical helpers to share our tasks and experience our lifestyle.... aid us with all the jobs in the gardens,and some house sitting.
A driving license is also useful and a willingness to try out some French!
We are a bilingual family, French and English, living in a mountain hamlet in the Ariege Pyrenees, and busy restoring modest stone buildings. There are plenty of opportunities to speak French as we are integrated in our hamlet and we all help each other.

We have a project to restore our buildings as ecologically and comfortably as possible learning about materials and methods as we go. Our aim is to get off the grid and we have installed solar PV /hot water and rainwater recovery systems. We would appreciate help from energetic people who are motivated to learn practical skills and don't mind getting dirty! All this in the context of a rural lifestyle with a large vegetable garden, and cats to catch the vermin! We are motivated but like to make the most of where we live with hiking trips to the mountains, and we love playing music of all types and eating good food...we eat meat but can cook for other preferences!

The buildings have panoramic views of the mountains with easy access and benefit from life in a typical French village. We spend alot of time outside, working and relaxing. We have a large terrace and we eat outside when we can! We would love help in all seasons. We can offer a room in our house, the 'den' or peaceful camping. Meals are with the family and we have use of the internet, old car, bicycle etc.

Please call, e-mail, txt. if you want to know more.. we can arrange a lift etc. Feel free to get in touch and ask us any questions.Hope to speak soon.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use