help exchange   Host 4633
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Ruffec
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 4633
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2017

We are a busy family always in need of help around the house, garden and with our menagerie of animals (horses, dogs, cat)

We have been renovating our house and there is a lot of work still to be done and lots of skills to be learned. A little DIY experience would be useful but not needed as long as you have the motivation and confidence to have a go.

We like our helpers to become part of the family and help out at mealtimes and with general household duties when needed. I do not object to anyone using my kitchen and doing some baking if you feel like it.

We have a newly decorated bedroom in the house for our helpers with a double bed.

Helpers who can ride (English style) are allowed to use our horses and enjoy the local forest and fields on our doorstep. You must be able to groom, tack up, ride safely (walk, trot, and canter) and clean the tack afterwards.

In the summer you can enjoy the pool or visit the local bathing lakes and rivers. We also have a hot tub (an ezspa)

We have plenty of DVDs and music CDs, English and French TV channels. The small town we live in has a library with an English section and you catch the train to many interesting places to visit. We do try to get out and about at the weekend, and helpers are welcome to join us.

Our area of the Charente is lovely with lots of places to visit and on the main route through to the South or North. We are about 2 hours from Paris by train. Cheap flights can be found from airports at Limoges, Poitiers, Angouleme, Bordeaux and La Rochelle. There is a main railway at Angouleme and Poitiers where you can catch daily trains to our town of Ruffec.(around 10 euros for a single way ticket) Alternatively for a cheap way to travel around france see if you can get a car share in covoiturage.fr. Ruffec has plenty of shops, swimming pool and cinema. We are two hours drive from the sea, and only 6 hours from Spain. (The family group photo below was taken at Luchon in the Pyrenees where my brother lives, the Charente is a bit flatter).

We are quite easy going and flexible, we expect 4 to 5 hours work per person per day. In return you receive your accommodation, 3 meals a day which consist of breakfast, lunch - normally something light and a main cooked meal in the evening. You may help yourself to non alcoholic hot or cold drinks at anytime. We prefer that provide your own toiletries (shampoo shower gel etc). You will have use of free internet and the use of the telephone for European calls. There are push bikes available for you to use to go to the local town. A washing machine is available for you to use.

Types of jobs we would expect you to help with:

Gardening, DiY and building jobs, caring for the animals (checking water and food etc), fencing (never ending job), helping with household chores and keeping the pool clean. You can split your hours over the day or just work the afternoons, on the weekends we expect some help but appreciate that you may want to visit the area. Sundays we try to relax - using this day to chill out and perhaps visit places.

We are quite a sociable family and enjoy lots of outdoor eating with friends in the summer. We also try to spend a lot of time just relaxing especially on a Sunday and on the cold days of winter.

Please note that the Google map below does not show the correct position of our address we are between the D8 and N10 in Ruffec.

We are English by Nationality and speak English (1st language) and French (2nd language). We are happy to accept any nationality of helper on long or short stays throughout the year.

This is what is lined us so far.
WHERE POSSIBLE WE PREFER HELPERS TO STAY a min of 1 week and are very happy to accomodate long stays.

2017
April - available
May - available
June - available.
July - Availabele
August - available
September - available.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use