help exchange   Host 46594
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46594
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2018

Ahrbrück is in the middle of Germany nestled in the beautiful red wine region known as Ahrtal, a few train stations (*) away from Koeln and Bonn. The landscape here is very green and lush offering a variety of options for local tourism and recreation. I am a 45 years old traveller, who studied fruit farming, and keen on house building. I travel a lot in winter to other places in Europe with my caravan, I did couchsurfing and made in Portugal Wwoofing last year. It's okay if you don't speak German, I am also an English and Spanish speaker.

Concerning about the work :
Now I'm currently in the process of making a transition in my life that will allow me to travel more. I have a nice but unfinished house in Kesseling which I'm trying to bring up to a respectable standard. I plan to convert it into a low budget gathering place for artistic, nature-loving people. It is a work in progress which requires both time and effort, and I need help to make my dream come true! So, if there are any Helpers out there interested in my project, I look forward to welcoming you into my home.

We work 24 hours a week (In summer I like 2 times 3 hours per day and 4 days so one day all free and everybody can do what he want (No cooking together and maybe I not at home too) ) but it can be very flexible). There are small and massive jobs like gardening and renovating. We would work together. If the construction work is too heavy, we can have small jobs in the house like planting and growing up some vegetables as the soil is good here. Sometime at nights, we can make fires or barbeques in my garden.

About arriveing here:
Most helpers arrive by train and I pick up and bring to railwaystation.

Some infos to note :
As I am living in a small village among the mountains, if you want to visit or make short explorations in the nearby cities or towns like Bonn (33km away), Cologne, Duesseldorf, Trier, Koblenz, Frankfurt etc.. The train to Bonn is an 1 hour trip (Euro 7,20) and 1.5 hours to Koeln (Euro 10,20). As I will frequently go to Koeln and Bonn for night concerts or shoppings about 2 or 3 times a week, it would be a pleasure for me to drive you there. You can get a bike for the ride to the station (1km) and short tours.
The last train at night is around 11 pm).

There are 2 ways to live.
The preferred option is to stay in my house in Ahrbrueck, a village with 1200 people and 4 km from Kesseling. My house was a B&B guesthouse 6 years ago.
Another option is the stone house in Kesseling. This house has two rooms that are nearly finished.
At present, the house has a big part of not being habitable. The other rooms are full of work and a little messy, so not so nice to live.

Internet is possible with wifi by my smartphone, not that fast...

For longer staying helpers I will offer in the free time a workshop with ceramics. I sell different kind clay for a small price same for the burning need some finance help for the elektric ofen.

Please tell me:
the dates when you want to come in your first email. (Later we can change). It makes it easier to talk about the work and the situation at this time.
where you will be before you come.
with car, train, or ... .
For my English proficiency, say in a range from 1 to 10 (10 for very very good), I would give for myself an 6, in Spanish the same.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use