help exchange   Host 46613
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bad Arolsen
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46613
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 18, 2016

Hey travellers,
we are looking for help in our countryside home and sustainability project in central Germany. Last year, Malte and Stefan bought this old guest house with a huge garden area and since then, we are renovating the house and gardening the garden, but we're also giving parties and concerts and just generally enjoy life.


***** Current Project*****


In September/October we will upgrade our attic, now being just a grubby space under the roof, into three enjoyable extra rooms.

The work will involve laying out a timber floor, applying isolation material and wood to the walls and so on, but you're also more than welcome to help with support tasks like cooking or occasionally helping out in the garden if the weather is nice and you're fed up with the attic.

The construction will take place under the tutelage of a professional, who will show up during the weekends to instruct us how to do the next task.

So if you're a crafty expert with wood, that's great; if you're not but feel that you might enjoy trying or supporting, that's totally great too :)



******************


At the moment we are Malte, Stefan, Jonas, Nathan, Tim, Lydia, Sabine, Chrissi, Hanna, Sonja, Johannes and two lovely babies.
Most of us have done travelling ourselves, we make a lot of music, love to cook and eat together, enjoy our own sauna and go for long walks in the beautiful surrounding forests.
We have two dogs, three chickens and plenty of baby cats.

Although we just started we already grow a fair amount of veggies in our own garden, experiment with making our own beer and making dairy products from the milk that we get from our neighbour, an organic dairy farm.

If you come to help us, you will work about five days per week and 5 hours a day (although there has never been a stopwatch involved so far). All Besides you're welcome to hang around with us and enjoy the last bits of this parting summer.

Landau is a tiny but lovely medieval town in central Germany. The next bigger city is Kassel, which is about 40km away. The next train stations are in Wolfhagen and Bad Arolsen, both about 8 km away, where we're glad to pick you up.

If you want to do shopping or sight seeing in a big city, our place might not be the best choice. But if you want to enjoy nature, go for long walks between rolling hills and forests and are eager to learn and experiment with us with gardening and self sustainability, this might be just the right place for you.

We are looking forward to meet nice people from different countries, to exchange ideas and learn from each other!

So far, save travels and good energy!


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use