help exchange   Host 47440
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Gouveia
All Year: March to November
Area (ha): 12 ha
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47440
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 15, 2017

We are a young couple with some experience on sustainable farming that just got a piece of land in the mountains and needs help on implementing and recovering infra-structures for farm support!

Rita (32)is a health-food enthusiast and loves to work with different kinds of art-craft. She likes to explore with Medicinal plants, Fermented food, ways of preserving food and appreciates doing basketry, wool-work and book-binding. Also likes to produce cleaning and hygiene products like natural detergents, soaps and salves. Walking in the nature, singing with friends and doing yoga (now having classes with a new neighbor) are some of the other things she enjoys.

Gonçalo (36)is a nature lover with a passion for Permaculture and Natural Farming. Studied Organic Agronomy and has been practicing it for some years now, also guiding internships and volunteers. He is interested in traditional building technics and now learning Tai-chi whit a new neighbor. Enjoys singing, playing didgeridoo and to make music with his friends.

We built two yurts for living (with the help of two new neighbors) , a dome for greenhouse (toilet and nursery) and have recovered a ruin (with the help of one local neighbor) for storage and workshop and a stable for the farm animals with our own chestnut roundwood. We'v also made a vegetable garden with Huegel beds and fruit trees and bushes. Already have the help of a horse a goat, sheep and chickens to regenerate pasture where we plant trees and shrubs in order to convert it to an poly-crop system. We also share our farm with a young female dog, Romã, and Mimi, the sweet cat, with her 2 sons, Benjamin and Simba.

In our farm is also living an other couple with wom we cooperate in order to improve this place and to share it with you.

This year we will need help, for 3 hours in the morning, maintaining the vegetable garden; building simple structures with roundwood and recicled materials; harvesting wild herbs and fruits and processing them; farming maintenance (bush clearing, moving and cutting fire-wood; moving electric fences and farm animal summer shades).

There's a camping area and a small caravan, with gas stove and frig, that you can use for cooking (you buy your own food outside or from us: vegetables, eggs and fresh-goat-cheese; we accept a donation for the gas), a solar shower and dry-toilet, there's also space for another caravan with solar shower and dry-toilet. A natural pool in the stream and according to the season, mushrooms, edible and aromatic plants, berries, acorns and chestnuts.

In north Portugal we have strong culture of family agriculture that is still practiced by beautiful old people and some young new amazing neighbors. You will meet some of those and can get to visit them to chill-out or help on farming maintenance in exchange for services, products or money and learn some knowledge or skills with joy!

We are at north-central Portugal, in a mountain with two glacial valleys, a lot of water on lakes, rivers and streams, that you can follow to find abandoned farming and shepherd houses surrounded by wilderness. There's tow villages close to us: Linhares da Beira (+/- 5km), an historical place with a military castle, a local association, a craft-shop, a cosy bar, a gourmet restaurant and two hotels ; Figueiró da Serra (+/- 2km), with more vivacity has tow local associations, a grocery-shop, tow bars and a hotel with restaurant. We have a 2 seat car that we use often to bring needs from outside but there's also a bus passing in Figueiró da Serra every day at 9am that goes to the closest town (Gouveia +/- 20km) and comes back at 5pm.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use