help exchange   Host 47449
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Great Barrier Island
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5.7
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47449
Region: Great Barrier Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 23, 2018

We are looking for a helper or two to help us for two weeks from around the 10th April 2018. In between doing beautiful hikes, surfing our uncrowded waves or wandering along empty beaches, we would love your help with building work, painting, creating our garden, entertaining our 2 year old son, and keeping our house in order. Note that during this time it is likely that some of the work will include mixing concrete, digging, weed-eating etc so at least one of you will need to be strong!

We are a family who love the outdoors and our alternative lifestyle here on Great Barrier Island. We live in a house that is completely off the grid and runs 100% on solar power. Our water comes directly from the sky or from the stream, we have a big vegetable patch and most of our meat and fish comes from the island's land and sea. In our spare time we fish, dive, surf, garden or play on the beach with our 2 year old son.

We moved into this property in March 2017 after spending a year renovating (thanks to all the help from wonderful helpXers). But there's still lots to be done. We would love your help, so get in touch!

In exchange for 4 hours work a day, plus general helping out (like doing the dishes, helping with meal preparation and playing with our son) we will provide all your meals and your accomodation. We have 2 kayaks, mountain bikes, boogie boards and a surf board that you are welcome to use too.

Your room has is a comfortable king size bed, warm duvet and pillows. We tend to go to bed and get up fairly early (except when Deborah does a dark sky stargazing tour) and you will need you to fit in with this.

We have family meals and eat meat and fish, so if you are vegetarian, that's cool, but you will need to let us know in advance, fit in with us and help out more with food preparation.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use