help exchange   Host 47474
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Te Anau
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47474
Region: Southland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2018

We live very close (one of the closest houses) to Fiordland National Park. We are practically next to the start of the Kepler Track, which you can walk to from our land.

Our beautiful, rural lifestyle section (2 hectares) provides amazing views of the Kepler mountains, lake Te Anau and the Murchison mountains, home to one of NZ's rarest birds, the takahe.

In your afternoons, you can cycle a short distance to Te Anau township from our home, off track around the lake. We are also next door to an amazing off road cycle path down a Lord of the Rings river. We have bikes you can use. We have chickens, flowers, hammocks.

We are looking for people (one at a time or a couple at a time - although we only have two single beds in one room) to join us for minimum 7-10 day periods (sometimes longer) throughout this autumn and winter to help with gardening and domestic duties in the mornings.

We need helpers from anywhere but you MUST have a VERY competent grasp of English and understand and know how to take instructions in English and work hard, well and fast. You MUST have domestic or garden experience acquired elsewhere please, along with commonsense. You will have a calm and polite persona and good maturity of mind.

We welcome helpers who are particularly considerate of others and understand how to cook basic meals (your own breakfast and lunch with our ingredients), clear up after themselves immediately and speedily, wash and fold clothes, clean a kitchen, living space and bathroom properly, tidy and generally follow instructions with care and quickly, and be a respectful member of our family environment. You will also know how to fit in with others, and how to limit screen time - you are not glued to your phone!

Every helpex we have met so far has been wonderful and a joy to meet. However, sadly, we have experienced many helpex who lack basic life skills. To give examples, some helpex do not understand how to cook basic foods, cannot light a fire, clean a toilet well, or vacuum really thoroughly. Please reflect on your level of life experience before applying. In particular, please do not apply if this is your first helpex experience and you have not lived away from a parental home before, or have only lived in an environment where you were very supported by others (eg you have only lived in a city and usually ate in restaurants or packaged foods). Conversely, helpex who are happy here have often worked successfully and hard in well-run family homes in rural environments.

We are a quiet family with one child still living at home, no tv, work hard and are very busy but we have a lot of love and laughter too over our evening meals particularly. Due to our work, Mary is often away or busy at her computer and Andrew works some long days as a kayak guide in Milford Sound. So we need flexible helpers who can learn routine tasks quickly and get on with them competently, although we also provide ample time off in your afternoons and advice on how to enjoy Fiordland. Mary is a mountain guide in her spare time and can advise you on the various tracks you can walk.

We eat good food which we try to ensure is as sustainable as possible (we make our own fair trade and organic nut milk) but we also sometimes eat wild meat from our forest, hunted by Andrew - particularly deer. You will be willing to try new foods, particularly organic, fair foods that are vegan. We try to buy as few dairy products as possible, so if you think milk and cheese are ethical in New Zealand then we are probably not the place for you!

We are academic and love education and music and have a piano and guitars. We welcome helpers who are well-educated too and keen to spend time talking with us but who are also ok on their own. We like people who are trying to be active listeners and aiming for personal growth. We are not religious but welcome people from all backgrounds and countries. We are happy to accept respectful couples although we only have two single beds. Get in touch!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use