help exchange   Host 48117
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Hobart
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.8
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48117
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2017

We have a 110 year old farm which is on 15 acres. We have all types of animals including 1 very spoilt dog who sleeps inside and need extra attention ,2 lambs that are bottle fed. A baby wallaby that lives inside we have 3 Angora goats which take care of themselves in summer but need to be fed twice daily in winter, 3 Alpacas which take care of themselves in summer but need to be fed twice daily in winter, 6 chickens that need feeding and watering twice a day, 2 ducks which need feeding and watering twice a day and 11 horses. 3 large thoroughbreds and 9 miniature horses. The 9 minis are shedded at night so duties would include feeding the big horses breakfast and putting them into a paddock for grazing for the day, letting the minis out of their stables in seperate paddocks,giving all the horses hay for the day as well as feeding the ducks and chickens, checking for eggs and cleaning put their areas then mucking out the horse sheds and refilling their water. At night they would need to be put back in their stables with dinner and replacing their hay.
You would also be in charge of filling up the feed bins and let us know when you are running low on any feed.
It would be preferable if you had experience with farm animals especially horses as well as being around most of the time for our dog.
A definite must is to love animals and want to spend time with them and get to know all their quirky personalities.
There would be a few hours each day to go touring , shopping etc. We are quite rural and not many buses come through, but if we are going into town you are more than welcome to join us alternatively we could drop you at a bus stop to catch buses where you would like to go.
.
Some of the work is quite physical, so you should be quite fit and dont mind getting a bit smelly. 7 acres of the property are only used as the rest is a forest. Food is included as well as the internet.
Duties/chores start at approx 9am and finish up at around 11.30 then they get put away and all the animals get dinner around 3pm in winter and between 4.30pm and 6pm in summer.However if there are other things that we need help with for example weeding, pruning, general help around the farm we would appreciate the help.
Showing Initiative is an absolute must....
The rest of the time you are free to do whatever you please. Sit on our own private beach, walk through our private forest,absorb the gorgeous view, watch a movie or 2. Mingle or read a book. Its totally up to you
Hoping to hear from you ASAP

I would prefer couples to share the work and NO children please.Also No Vegetarians or Vegans unless you would like to prepare your own food.

NEED CONTINUOUS HELP as both myself and my husband have very bad backs.

Regards
Stacey

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use