Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48237
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Wellington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1500mtrs
Persons: 1, 2 or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48237
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2018

Tena koe i tenei ahiahi and welcome to our page.

=============================================
WE ARE FULL - PLEASE DON'T CONTACT US UNLESS YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SOMEWHERE AFTER MID AUGUST.
=============================================

Our family has a warm, happy, and easy to live in smoke-free home. We like watching movies, playing cards, board games and reading. Live a ten-minute walk from a fantastic bus service that goes all around Wellington, and within a fifteen minute walk have banks, supermarkets, swimming pool, parks and a library, and 200mtrs up the road is the ‘Skyline Walk’ that will give you some fantastic views of the city, a great walk, and an amazingly mountain bike ride if you want.

If you are only planning on being in Wellington a couple of days, that would be okay, and maybe ten days at the most … Elizabeth prefers people for shorter stays, but all things are negotiable and we are flexible people.

THE WORK FOR ACCOMMODATION EXCHANGE

We don't want to work anyone into the ground, if you are happy to do around 3 hours a day we would be very happy with that. The more physical the work the less hours we would want you to do. After all, this is about you enjoying Wellington and staying healthy. And for your efforts we would provide you with a warm bedroom, comfortable bed, bedding, 3 meals a day, snacks, bathroom facilities, internet, and evening conversation if you would like.

That said, we once had a home stay who had an evening waitressing job, didn't get up till noon, and would then leave the house by 2pm to meet up with friends. And in the end did very little work. We don't want to over work anyone, but don't enjoy being taken for granted either.

Our property is quite large for a city section, and the rear half (500mts) is partly native and partly overgrown with weeds and small trees. We wish to slowly remove this mess of large and small weeds and return the whole property to native plants, with some paths and seats – as we get a lot of native birds through and would like to encourage more – so maybe you could help with that weather dependant.

If you are handy with a hammer or paintbrush, I always have a project on the go. So either you could help with some of that or maybe you would just like to learn some skills that I could teach you.

As we both work we are often in need of some afternoon childcare for our 5 year old, or maybe you could simply do the house work, or cook us a meal for dinner. We have a big home and there is always a tonne or Spring Cleaning options – even if it is winter.

THE GUEST BEDROOM:

And in case you are interested, we have two spare bedrooms. The one upstairs is large, and contains a double bed and single bed in the room, draws, wardrobe space, and a large writing desk – so perfect for a couple or a couple of friends. Also, we have a single spare bedroom down stairs right across the hall from the bathroom, with a Single bed, draws, shelves, wardrobe, and a small writing desk – so perfect if you are traveling alone. And I promise the beds are comfortable and warm, and you can take a hot water bottle to bed if you would like.

OUR FAMILY:

Elizabeth and I have both worked in education, my wife with a PhD in Literature, and me as a Drama and History teacher. We live in a 5 bedroom home with two living areas and 2 bathrooms. We have a recently turned 5 year old daughter living with us, and a 15 year old daughter who now lives at her mothers (because I am just arghhh). And I do have an older son who is 21, and works/flats in Karori, and visits for dinner at least once a week. We regularly have home stay students live with us, the longest was an Indonesian University student who stayed for 18 months. Oh and we also have one young cat and four hens (chickens).

If you mention the 'hens' when you email us we will know you actually like the sound of us and aren't just emailing everyone in Wellington. We want people here who want to share some time with us.

In our home we eat a bit of everything and cook all sorts. We eat meat some days, vegetarian at least a couple of times a week, and even have a couple of vegan meals that we regularly cook.

We have both travelled a bit, my wife more than me, and our little girl has already been to 12 different countries.. My wife speaks German, a little French, and in the past we could both do a little Italian (though I doubt either of us know much anymore).

Our little girl is full of happiness, loves everyone, can nearly swim, does a weekly circus class, loves our trampoline, and is happily learning to ride a bike, rollerblade and read (but not at the same time).

I guess the thing about us is we feel that most things could be possible. If you are unsure then send an email and we will reply quickly. Thanks for the interest, enjoy New Zealand, and smile every day.

Whakamihi and warmest regards, Nigel, Elizabeth and family :)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use