help exchange   Host 48393
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Pressignac
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48393
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 27, 2016

**We are currently looking for helpers with experience with horses who might enjoy getting involved with rescued pony Dolly's rehabilitation from laminitis and neglect - see photo below**

We (Martin (50s) and Andrea (40s)) live within walking distance of the village of Pressignac with its shop, bar, bakery, post office and riding stables, and cycling distance of a large leisure lake with sandy beaches, boat hire and bars/restaurants, with our mostly rescued animals currently 5 horses, 2 dogs, 3 cats, and wildlife that includes nesting barn owls and many hedgehogs.

Our property is an old farmhouse, with a gite at one end, a large garden for the dogs, a large barn for the horses, outbuildings and around 3 hectares used for grazing and hay making. More information about our property and the many attractions and festivals in our beautiful rural area of France can be found on our website, see link above.

Andrea founded and runs a charity that provides information and support for anyone dealing with a horse with laminitis and looks after and rides our horses. Helpers with an interest with horse health and horse foot care would be particularly welcome several trainee vets have stayed with us and enjoyed being involved with active laminitis cases and rehabilitations.

Martin took early retirement from lecturing in artificial intelligence at Bournemouth University, where he was a PhD supervisor and external examiner. He continues to keep up to date with AI, but also grows organic fruit and veg, brews his own beer and bakes excellent bread.

Helper accommodation might be in the gite or in the main house, depending on gite bookings. All bedrooms are en-suite with English satellite TV and WiFi broadband. If the gite is not booked, helpers will have full use of the gite facilities - see website. All meals are provided, often using our home grown organic fruit and veg note we are vegetarian but eat fish and cooking facilities are available. We can collect helpers from the train station in Chabanais, or Limoges airport. We are looking for 4-5 hours help per day this is flexible - and might include helping with the horses and dogs, gardening, housework, helping with the running of the charity basically helping us with whatever we have to do.

Helpers must love animals and nature and be confident with large dogs (we have a Gordon Setter and a Rough Collie). We speak English and basic French. Helpers would have the use of 2 bikes. We are looking for helpers to stay 1 to 2 weeks. We are friends with Helpx host ID 17707, who introduced us to Helpx and many of their helpers - friends staying with both hosts at the same time could meet up easily (we are a 20 minute cycle/10 minute drive apart).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use