help exchange   Host 48620
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Clugnat
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.0
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48620
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 16, 2017

Welcoming helpers for Summer and Autumn 2017! We have open weeks remaining!

Our home is located in the quite isolated countryside of La Creuse, the greenest region of France.

We have a very cozy old farm-house that has been renovated and offers simple comfort for all seasons (wood stove heating, heated bathroom, hot water, etc). There are also two large barns in good shape. In our land, we have an expanding biodynamic vegetable garden, a marvellous greenhouse, a beautiful leisure garden, a young oak grove, a chicken coop with 4 hens and a coq, green pasture for our 5 sheep.

We practice organic cultivation and care of everything on the land. We bought the property a year ago and have much to do, so if you have the skills and motivation to do some work in good company and a relaxed atmosphere, you are welcome to come and stay for a while!

The work we need help with is varied, such as:

- building: improvements on the sheep shelter and sheep fencing, building a hut for guest writers/poets to do their work in peace
- gardening: our vegetable garden is growing, so there is much work to do, expansion of the recently established agroforest, building of a small pond
- animal tending: sheep and chicken
- renovating: making a workshop/ microbrewery and pottery atelier inside one of the barns
- house keeping: cooking, tidying, and other minor errands

We offer very comfortable accomodation, good organic food (vegetarian or not, plus home-made bread, cheese, our own olive oil we produce in south-France, and the good stuff from the garden - all organic) in exchange for 4 to 6 hours of work 6 days a week (the workload can be rearranged as you wish, such as 4 days x 8 hours then 3 days off, for example).

We are a couple with no children, in our late 40s, fit, healthy, grateful and happy with the life we had and have. We both retired from the busy urban life about 5 years ago, and after some years travelling, we have recently settled in this precious pristine place in the heart of Europe.

Our home is 3 hours drive or train from Lyon, Paris, and Bordeaux. The nearest cosmopolitan places (1 hr drive) are Limoges and Bourges, beautiful mid-size towns with wonderfully preserved medieval centres, bustling markets, and vibrant artistic scene. The nearest beach is about 3.5 hrs away.

We speak multiple languages (fluent English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, and pretty good Italian), have travelled all over the world, and have lived and worked in 3 continents. We know how to enjoy life and also do hard physical work, yet always seeking to do it in harmony with time, place and the people around us.

So if you feel motivated, speak English and/or any of the other languages we speak, and would like to come and "live" with us for a while (minimum 1 week, maximum to be discussed), send us a message.

Happy (ad)ventures!
Marcel & Ciane

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use