help exchange   Host 48870
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Obermumpf
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .2200
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48870
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 15, 2017

Our profile has changed, on 20.06.2017 "Grandpa" Ed, my father made his way into heaven.
Our volunteer helpers gave my father the best care and help. Without those helpers who shared my fathers life here at home I would not have been able to care for him as I was able to. 
An extremely friendly, gentle man who touched many peoples lives throughout his life, his radiant smile and love always shined.
When you raise your glass, just say “First Today”

About Us – Dave and a dog called Brandy living in Switzerland.

Brandy is a female Hungarian Vizsla born 20.10.2013. She is in training to search for truffles in the local forests. Brandy is a middle size dog weighing ca. 19kg and is very active. She is very intelligent, playful and uber friendly to everyone she has contact with. Brandy is being trained and fed by Dave, but she requires walks and exercise when Dave is at work. You should be a very dog friendly person.

Dave speaks fluent English & Swiss German (20+ years in CH), tattoo artist/piercer by profession, multilingual, grew up in NYC, is the owner/operator of a tattoo studio in Basel. He occasionally tours worldwide musically and has a flexible work schedule which finds him at home often.

Dave is also father to a young boy named Jonathan 01.2005 who speaks both English & German fluently, enthusiastic gamer, and lives part time in the house. 

Our Diet: As a family we eat a wide variety of foods at our home and BBQ year round. Naturally enjoying wine from our vineyards to compliment the foods we eat. In regards to food and cuisine, we are extremely international in our tastes... Thai, Indian, Chinese, French, Italian, American, German, Japanese, etc, etc...
Dave is an outstanding cook and will be cooking when his schedule allows. We strive to eat locally grown foods which are bio and fresh when in season, from our garden... and enjoy as well a wide variety of cheeses. Brandy eats all natural, raw meat and bones only and her diet/meals are completely handled by Dave.

Our home is located in a small village of approx. 600 people, 30 minute train ride in either direction to Basel or Zurich by train, local transport by bus to the train station is 5 minutes or 20 minutes walking. There are 4 bedrooms in the house, 2 full baths, large eat in kitchen, foyer, living room, dining room, fireplace, balcony, large cellar/garage, situated on a south facing hill. The house is surrounded by a large garden (partly fenced for Brandy), vineyard, terrace and clubhouse with views of forests and pastures.
The vineyard is maintained biologically, with 3 varieties of grapes, Cabernet Cortis, Cabernet Carol and Saphira. Annual production is ca. 300ltrs depending on mother nature.

The house is fully equipped with internet/wifi, modern stove, oven, dishwasher, clothes washer & dryer, 2 refrigerators and 3 freezers. The river Rhine flows past the next village and the German border is a 5 minute drive away. Your room is located on the second floor of the house, there is a full bath upstairs and downstairs for your use.

Whats required;
*Help around the household, light housekeeping, help preparing meals, laundry, etc.

*Help maintaining garden, vineyard and surrounding property (seasonal)... 

*Companionship & Walks with Brandy

Tips:
Solo Uno, a most pleasurable experience to relax the body, mind and soul for a few hours http://www.parkresort.ch/en/parkresort/baths-saunas/#content-top
Highly recommended visit during your stay, close to our home.

Basel, a very beautiful city, over 50 museums, lots to do... www.basel.com/en

Bad Sackingen, a few minutes away by car from our home... http://www.bad-saeckingen-tourismus.de/index.shtml?en_homepage

Zurich, my least favorite city in Switzerland... Although I do appreciate what it has to offer regarding music & concerts venues and also ZRH being international as an airport, I go only when needed. https://www.zuerich.com/en#section-01

I would suggest Luzern as an alternative option for a day trip... not only do you have the beautiful lake, sights of the Alps, scenic old village, there is an excellent museum called the "Swiss Transport Museum" which is very, very cool! The museum is also a great escape if the weather changes abruptly ;-)
https://www.verkehrshaus.ch/en

*There are super saver train fares available within Switzerland and I can help you avoid paying high train fees, so do not book anything in advance.

In general the schedule is very flexible & relaxed with Dave & Brandy. You will find yourself with much free time during your stay.
Min. required stay 3 weeks.

*Min. required stay 3 weeks
*You must be very dog friendly!
*Single travelers only
*No Vegans or Vegetarians, we are omnivore!

*View our HelpX helper calendar http://cabernetcortis.com/helpx.html


*We are very close friends with HelpX host Martin Buser and his family and can highly recommend him as a host for those interested in farming, wine making and viticulture. 
Host ID: 51074

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use