help exchange   Host 48954
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Stange
All Year: Spring, Summer & Autumn
Area (ha): 1.8 (18,000 square meter)
Persons: Couple or 2 friends
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48954
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2017

*** We are now fully booked for 2017 ***

We live in an old log house next to a small lake deep in the forest. It is a small holding for 3 generations of a family from Norway/France & England. There is a private lake, log cabin, 2 barns & many out buildings on the land.

We are a married couple with 3 small children so we are looking for people that work well in a family environment. We have cats, 2 pigs(seasonal), 2 goats & chickens with moose, deer, beaver, badgers etc living in the forest & bird life on the lake.

We are looking for a couple or 2 friends together. The work will involve helping out with jobs in and around the house & grounds.
* Feeding & cleaning out the animals
* Vegetable garden, cutting grass, weeding
* Picking potatoes & carrots
* Painting
* Chopping & stacking firewood
* Maintenance of fences
* Picking berries in the forest
* Housework, cleaning windows, washing up after meals, setting the table before meals and helping out with everyday jobs.
* looking after the children, playing outside & going for walks with them.

We will also need people in late summer/autumn to help with harvest work and preparations for winter.
* Collecting & burning leaves\garden waste
* Digging up vegetables
* Cleaning the barn & bringing in the animals
* Butcher & packing meat
* Cutting back bushes and tidying up outside area

It is essential that you are the type of person that is hard working, self motivated, doesn't mind getting your hands dirty & enjoys being out in the nature. If you can't live without internet & home comforts then you shouldn't apply. Those who like to live the country life, camping and the outdoors will be suitable to apply.

This is a place where the work can be physical but varied and combined with leisure activities in a peaceful natural environment.

In return we will provide food & accommodation during your stay and you will have use of bicycles, fishing rods etc. Working hours and days are fair & flexible. We expect 6-8 hours per day depending on the work.

We are a 1 hour train ride or drive from Oslo Gardermoen airport and we can arrange pickup from our local train station (Stange) or bus station (Romedal).
Hamar is the capital of the region we live in & it's a 25 minute drive from our house. We are a little remote but that's how we like it.

We encourage helpers to explore the forest & lakes nearby in their free time. There is a cabin out in the forest where you can stay overnight.

There are many opportunities for hiking in the forest. Swimming, rowing & fishing on the lake. Berry & mushroom picking late summer/autumn. It is also possible to visit an old paper factory museum which is close to the farm where Edvard Munch grew up & a small motor museum.

***There can be mosquitoes in the summer evenings here and we only have outdoor compost toilets. Unfortunately we can't cater for vegan or vegetarian diets. If you don't get a reply from us this means that we don't have availability but we thank you for your interest***

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use