help exchange   Host 4898
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Villardebelle
All Year: No
Area (ha): 1/3
Persons: 9
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 4898
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 21, 2017

Hi all! My name is Eddy. I'm 59 and from Flemish origin, but I live in southern France since 12 years now. My occupation (in the sense of the things I occupy my time with) is a mixture of pilgrim/photographer/musician/nature lover, and I like to bring people together.
My place is situated 3,5km outside of the small village of Villardebelle, 35km SE of the historic city of Carcassonne, at an altitude of 712m. Mountainous area, forests, pastures, isolated and very quiet, nearest shops and banks at Limoux (23km), hot springs at Rennes-les-Bains (also 23km), so having your own means of transport is preferable. If you like this sort of quiet hidden places this is the place to be.
The energy of the place is introspective and highly transformative, so I turned it into a place of inner transformation, exchange and sharing, which I've called the "Pilgrims' Nest", open to all 'pilgrims' on the road, and to all who travel consciously their inner path of evolution. It also welcomes everyone who needs a few days or weeks of rest, reflection and energy recharging, or relaxation in the sense of getting away for a while from stress and a hectic lifestyle, and to release accumulated tensions.
You are invited to come and help with the developing of this project. Work consists of helping with renovating the barn, working in the garden, constructing cabins, cleaning and repairing jobs, perhaps cooking, doing the odd thing, and most important: just BEING there, adding to the buildup of the energy... You'll be working 2 to 3 hours a day in exchange for accommodation only. As I run the place on a very tight budget you will basically have to provide your own food.
You'll be staying either in the dormitory space inside the barn, or in a small caravan for up to 2 people if you want more privacy.
There's delicious clear spring water coming out of all the taps, electricity is generated by solar panels and a small windmill, and the sun heats up the shower water. Nature as well as I will appreciate it when you bring biodegradable soap or gel, or don't use them at all.
There is no public transport to the Nest, so if you don't have your own means of transport you will basically have to hitch hike from Limoux, which usually works out fine.



Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use