help exchange   Host 49003
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Vis
All Year: no
Area (ha): about half a hectare
Persons: more than 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 49003
Country: Croatia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 16, 2018

SUMMER 2018

Hello! Please read carefully all the way to the end: this isnít your average help exchange, but itís a really beautiful off-grid experience for those rugged enough to handle it.

FOOD IS NOT INCLUDED: you can buy whatever you need in town and cook it yourself at camp. I provide drinking water and cooking supplies. I prefer helpers who bring their own camping gear, but I have a few spare tents and sleeping mats if needed.

Thereís no refrigeration, no running water (free showers in town, though), and the toilet is a bucket in the bushes with a box over it to sit on.

Thereís no electricity and no lights at night, so please bring a good headlamp or flashlight. I have a small solar panel for charging phones.

Check-in is on Saturday: PLEASE arrive at the specified time (ferry schedules will be announced before summer), because we all walk up the hill together on an unmarked path through the forest. This will take about 40 minutes. Late arrival equals big inconvenience, so I can't guarantee that I'll be able to deal with you if you miss the boat. Sounds harsh, but the conditions are too rough, sorry.

The work schedule is great: we work three hours Monday evening (starting at about four hours before sundown, so you have a little daylight after work to organize cooking), then three hours Tuesday morning very early (so youíre done before it gets too hot), then one more three-hour evening shift on Wednesday. I also ask that you put in one hour of unsupervised work before you leave to make sure the camp is clean. Not just your personal space, but communal spaces as well. This schedule condenses the work into three days and gives you plenty of free time to explore Vis.

Check-out is on Saturday, but you can extend your stay if youíd like.

THIS EXCHANGE IS NOT FOR YOU IF:

1. Youíre a slacker who doesnít know how to cooperate with a group, canít be bothered to keep communal spaces neat and clean, and who leaves messes for others to clean up.

2. You canít live without refrigeration and running water.

3. A 30 to 40-minute walk (each way) to and from town through a hilly forest sounds like torture to you.

4. You canít deal with bugs (big harmless spiders, flies, mosquitos) and the occasional harmless snake seen slithering into a rock wall or up a tree.

5. Using an outdoor toilet that consists of a bucket with a box on top, emptying the bucket into a compost trench then covering your poo with leaves sounds like your idea of hell.

PLEASE CONTACT ME IF:

1. Youíre a helpful and considerate person who takes the initiative to keep any space you use neat and clean, even if that means you sometimes clean up after others (bonus points if you can motivate them to clean up after their own damn selves!)

2. You donít mind waking up at the crack of dawn one day per week in order to get the work done early, before it gets too hot.

3. You enjoy a bit of physical labor. This may involve moving rocks, repairing rock walls, cutting bushes and tangles of prickly vines, digging up stubborn roots, harvesting leaves for poo covering, filling bottles of water from a cistern and carrying them to another location about five minutes away, breaking down piles of last yearís cut wood, and weeding.

4. You can be trusted to put in one hour of unsupervised work to make sure the camp is clean before you leave: not just your personal space, but the communal spaces as well (kitchen, washing zone, backyard, toilet).

5. You like sleeping in a tent, can live without refrigeration and running water, and donít mind cooking under rudimentary conditions or using an outdoor toilet (see above).

Iíll be accepting helpers on the following SATURDAYS:

JUNE 23, 30
JULY 7, 14, 21, 28
AUGUST 4, 11

Summer exchange ends on Saturday, August 18: all helpers need to leave by that date.

As for me? I'm from the US and got my first taste of living off-grid at Burning Man (2002-2006). Once I saw the possibilities, I was hooked! I love the challenge of trying to make something from nothing, and of bringing this magical place back to life. I'm also a bit of a hermit, so I hang out alone when we're not working and have my own separate place to sleep. If youíre interested in helping out, begin your message with "Yes, please!" so I know you've read all this. Also, please tell me on which of the Saturdays you'd like to arrive, for how long you think you'd like to stay (you can change your mind later) and whether or not you'll be bringing your own tent.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use