help exchange   Host 4949
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


(near) Popovo
All Year:
Area (ha): About 4 acres
Persons: 2-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4949
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 27, 2017

We are looking for long term volunteers in 2017, stays no shorter than 3 weeks please.
Also we would prefer 2 people together.
We will be continuing large scale renovations and so skills in traditional building would be good and cooking abilities are useful.
We now have limited internet at home, on a tablet, the reception is not always great due to our location, however I can usually reply within a day or 2.
I always reply to requests!

We are off grid.

We have 2 horses, 2 cats and 2 small dogs. Plus 1 hive of bees, this is new to us so we would welcome any experience with natural beekeeping.
We also care for a friend's donkey when she is not in Bulgaria.

7 years ago we (being Lisa myself, Reuben my 24yr son & Zo my 20yr daughter, they are only here occasionally now), took on this beautiful & wild wooded land which had not been lived on for maybe 30 years. We wish to continue renovating the cob & oak 3 room cottage, clear fallen & dead trees, grow vegetables, maintain animal housing, have bees, make fences, harvest fruit, sit & enjoy, share the space, learn & teach and that will do to start as the list is endless. The 3 of us have been volunteers & have done lots of hosting of various sorts.

Staying here will be primitive, comfortable, well fed & hopefully interesting & fun!

The we now is myself, Lisa & Tuncher, who speaks Bulgarian & Turkish.
Tuncher also has a house in the village (see accommodation) where we sometimes work with volunteers, helping with his mother's garden, and general keeping the plant growth in check. Tuncher is also doing renovations.

We can cater for both meat eaters and vegetarians. Tuncher eats meat & I am vegetarian, so both are cooked everyday.

Smokers are welcome, however smoking is outside please. Tuncher and his family are smokers.

When answering please detail any skills in the gardening/natural building/cooking & preserving areas you have, also what things you are interested in doing while here. We have some knowledge in some areas of the wish list but much more to learn, it is all very exciting!

Also in the summer there are children's craft days with a friend.

At certain times of the year there are workshares with friends.

Throughout the year there will be:-
Collecting bales, hay & grain.
Creating new electrickery fenced areas for the horses & donkey.
If you wish to get to know the horses, please say.
Sowing, weeding, harvesting & preserving vegetables/fruit.
Natural building: mud work/plastering, timber building.
Clearing land, preparing for winter.
Sourcing timber on our land for winter.
2017, we are upgrading our off-grid electrickery.

And more, you could also learn how to drive a horse cart!! Most of our work in the village is by cart.

Volunteer accommodation is in Tuncher's house in the same village about 15 minutes walk away. There is a newly renovated, separate self contained room, with 2 single beds, a sink, (see photo below with sink in yellow & brown room) a wood fired stove and long drop loo. This house does have basic electrickery and cold running water!
After that it is a very large summer tent. This would also be at the other house so you would have use of the same amenities. Accommodation is on a first booked first served basis (unless you really wish to camp).
Of course you can bring your own tent and I have plenty of bedding.

Things to do on days off:-
Walking, cycling, hiking, if proficient enough take a horse ride or have a riding lesson, fishing, catch a bus somewhere else to explore for a couple of days. I have arranged a free volunteer account for Internet at the nearest library, Voditsa 8km. The is also a bar in Voditsa with WiFi, they do good homemade chips!
There are 2 bicycles for volunteer use.
Go fishing in the local lake, carp and sheatfish.

Languages spoken are English, Bulgarian & Turkish.

Blessings,
Lisa & Tuncher

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use