help exchange   Host 49519
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Genouillé
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49519
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 2, 2016

We are Wilf and Rosi and we moved here to the south Vienne two years ago. We live in an old farm with our dog and cats, in a small hamlet in some delightful countryside about an hour southwest of Poitiers.

Rosi used to be a primary school teacher in England, while Wilf is a psychology graduate and an ex-driving instructor. Rosi is the one who gets on with the work! She has done plastering, tiling, some electrics and plumbing, and has a fair bit of knowledge about roofing and such like, since being here in France.

The house is now habitable - we have already completed a lot of work, including electrics, new bathroom, roof etc - however we want to expand a bit and need help with a bit more roofing and building work on some of the many outbuildings. Also, last summer our beautiful barn collapsed so we have a lot of clearance work to do - and help would be greatly appreciated in the reclamation of some of the timbers, stone and tiles.

Rosi has managed to clear and sort out much of the garden area which extends over an acre, but there is a lot of continuing maintenance as well as a few projects we have in mind to improve it all. These include the planting of trees and fruit bushes and the construction of a lasagne bed for growing vegetables next season.

It is a very peaceful place to live, with some beautiful little towns and villages to explore.

We are non-smokers but like good food and the local wine and believe that while there is plenty of work that needs doing, we also need to relax and make the most of the fantastic place we live in.

We would love to have volunteers who don't mind mucking in and helping out where needed - it may be that one day it will be garden work and another day a bit of building work or clearance. We don't mind if volunteers want to get involved in cooking sometimes either. We would like people who are a bit outgoing, and maybe have a few DIY skills, however, enthusiasm is the key! We are happy to help out with learning English and we are also learning French ourselves so visitors can learn too if they wish. We would also be interested in French speakers who would help us improve our skills as we would like to become French citizens in due course.

At the moment we have one spare double room, newly refurbished - but as work continues we hope to have one or two more rooms available. We have plenty of room in the grounds for those who would wish to camp in the good weather. We don't mind catering for vegetarians but would find it difficult to cater for vegans.

There are lots of local places of interest and many lovely walks and cycle routes. We are not very close to public transport routes, but are happy to help out with lifts and outings to places of interest in down time. There are bikes available also.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use