Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 49555
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: from 24th October
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49555
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 23, 2018

Hello Helpxers,

I am look for one or two people to help while I am having building works done on my house. I am preferably looking for someone with building skills, if not then hopefully you can learn some but the minimum I ask for is that you are practical and strong! Also that you don't mind mucking in and getting your hands dirty (and probably, hair and clothes too!). I like things done well so we will probably get on well if you also take pride in your work and like to do things to a certain standard. I don't mind if you work slowly to achieve this.

I am doing a loft conversion and an extension out the back. All work is going to be as eco as possible. Timber frame, eco insulation, lime render etc etc. The builder who is carrying out the work has had many years experience as a eco builder and I consider more of an artist than a builder.

The most important thing for me is willingness and flexibility. I am spontaneous, generous and practical but not always very logical in my thinking. I am looking for people to be around to help the build go more smoothly, to help keep the site clean, make up mixes, carry things around, possibly collect things (if you can drive). There are also a few things that need doing in the garden so if you enjoy this work then your help would be welcome. If you like cooking you are also welcome to get creative in the kitchen. I also ask that you do contribute to clearing up after meals.

I am an English teacher and a yoga teacher so as well as learning some eco building skills I can offer you English help and you are welcome to join any yoga classes I teach. All the food I provide will be organic, veggie and wholesome (if you really like to eat meat don't worry - we can find a way around this and my son welcomes meat eaters!).

Norwich is a really lovely small but lively town. My house is very close to the river and it is easy to walk into the countryside direct from the house and it is also easy to walk into town. I also have bikes that you can use. The surrounding area (Norfolk/Suffolk) is also lovely, with the sea not too far away and the broads, which are areas of water attracting lots of birds.

I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use